Tom Ka Gai (Coconut Chicken Soup) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2003
Tasted EXCELLENT, but I'd use light coconut milk next time to make it less fattening. Also, I couldn't find fish sauce, so I substituted soy sauce and that worked fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2002
My husband and I really enjoyed this. I substituted chicken stock for the water, and I added fresh sliced mushrooms and sliced strips of red pepper for more interest. Plus I added more chicken than the recipe called for. A very tasty soup (just add more cayenne if you like it hotter) that was fast, easy, and quite similar to the authentic Tom Ka Gai we've eaten many times in Thai restaurants.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2003
We've made this many times - perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rob Hoehn
Home Town: Clayton, New York, USA
Living In: Berkeley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2002
This is fantastic! I added a 3rd can of coconut milk, 1/3 of a can of coconut cream & doubled the chicken. VERY quick & easy. It tastes just like the soup we used to drive an hour to order in our favorite Thai restaurant. Spicy & authentic. For each new guest I've served it to I've had to make a copy of this recipe.This is the best soup in my collection!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2003
We loved this soup! Even my 8 year old asked for seconds. My husband said he thought it was even better than our favorite Thai restaurant. The only changes I made were to use 2T soy sauce instead of 4T fish sauce and chicken stock instead of water. Do yourself a favor and make this soup!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2003
Yum, very good. I added some more vegetables (sprouts, water chestnuts) for crunchiness and everyone was very happy with this. I've made it twice, and the second time my boyfriend ate so much he had to lie around complaining... this stuff is utterly impossible to leave alone until it's gone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2001
Absolutely FABULOUS! The best soup I have ever tasted in my life, restaurant quality.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BAYLENE421

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2002
Thanks for this recipe! I love This soup! I've been wanting to make this soup for a long time but the "true" ingredients (galanga, Lemongrass, and lime kaffir leaves are near impossible to find at your average supermarket! It was really easy to make too. I also added some mushrooms.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2002
I really like this quick and fast to make...very feeling. This is the second time I made it, so I was experimental: onions, mushrooms and chicken broth...really yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2003
this soup is very easy to make and absolutely delicious. I will be making it again but next time I will add a little less fish sauce as it was quite salty and left us thirsty for the rest of the day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 169) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Chicken Thai Soup

See Chef John’s tasty version of spicy Thai chicken soup.

Nong’s Khao Man Gai Chicken

See how one determined cook turned a tasty Thai dish into a recipe for success.

Chef John's Coconut Chicken Curry

Watch Chef John make a fantastic faux-curry chicken dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States