Tom Ka Gai (Coconut Chicken Soup) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2010
This is a great basic recipe. I did, however, have to make a few changes to the original: 1. Chicken broth instead of water 2. Used A LOT less coconut milk (about 3/4 of a can) 3. Used only a slice of lime instead of 1/4 cup 4. Added about 1 tbsp of Tom Yum Paste 5. Added about 3 or 4 tbsp of sugar I don't know how this recipe would be good without any lemongrass. The Tom Yum paste has lemongrass incorporated into it along with other ingredients that, in my opinion, are vital to the taste of the soup. After the modifications, the soup came out delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2009
Just like the restaurants! You can also add a little mushrooms, or carrots to bulk up the soup a little but it's great the way it is! I also like to add in a can of diced tomatoes and a TBSP of curry sometimes. Very easy to prepare and DELICIOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2009
This was delicious! I followed another reviewer's advice and crushed the fresh lemongrass with the flat end of a knife, and added in in large strips that were easily removed. I also added a large sliced carrot and sliced up half of a red bell pepper. Served over jasmine rice and topped with fresh thai basil. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2009
I added things like the other cooks. Added 2 tsp sugar, did half lemon half lime juice, used more cilantro and added during cooking, changed water for chicken broth. One change I will make next time is to reduce the fish sauce by 1 tbs. It was really salty and a little too pungent, although still delicious. This is as good a soup as you'd get in any restaurant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aja

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2009
Never tried this soup at a Thai restaurant - in fact I know nothing about Thai food - but this was a great soup, did some modifications though. I only had one can of coconut cream, and I only used 3 cups of water which was plenty. I added a tablespoon of lime juice, omitted the turmeric, and put big chunks of ginger that I took out before serving. I had no green onion and replaced the fresh cilantro with dried cilantro; also added about two or three teaspoons of white sugar. It was a rather yummy soup, all in all! At first my family thought it smelled and tasted strange, but after a few sips they all liked it. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tibbadee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2009
Loved it. Have to be careful with the ol' fish sauce though -- they vary so much. The other flavors were very good. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JARRIE
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2009
This was phenomenal, but I had to make some changes based on what I have available. I used leftover roasted chicken & doubled it (so no oil); I used homemade chicken stock for the water & I doubled that too; used 1 tbsp. ground ginger; 4 tbsp oyster sauce; doubled the cayenne; omitted the turmeric; added garlic powder, dried cilantro, a heaping tsp of dried lemongrass, & 4 tbsp. cream of coconut. I cooked my green onion in the soup & think I might use the entire sheaf next time. I kept the coconut milk & lime juice quantities the same (my husband added more red pepper & more lime juice at the table). I will definitely make this again, and I will properly double the recipe when I do. (Was afraid, this time, that we just wouldn't like it, but we SO did.) I can't speak to this recipe's authenticity as we'd never had a Tom Ka Gai that we liked, so I just kept adding & subtracting things until I reached a flavor that *I* liked. Thank you SO much, this was so good :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JARRIE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2009
This dish is incredible! We have eaten Tom Ka Gui at thai restaurants, but none of them are as good as this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2009
I really like this soup, but my boyfriend is turned off by the smell, and it doesn't look nice when you refrigerate it for later. Still delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2009
I've been craving this since having it from a Thai restaurant a couple weeks ago. I used low fat coconut milk, cut out the tumeric, used chunks of ginger that I took out after simmering, added 4 Tbl sugar, doubled cilantro, used chicken broth instead of water. Soo good! I did what someone else suggested and added lime slices while it simmered and then took them out. Next time I wouldn't do this because I think it gave it a little bit of a bitter taste. I will also add mushrooms next time like the kind I got at the restaurant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 173) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Chicken Thai Soup

See Chef John’s tasty version of spicy Thai chicken soup.

Nong’s Khao Man Gai Chicken

See how one determined cook turned a tasty Thai dish into a recipe for success.

The Best Thai Coconut Soup

A delicious, must-have soup recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States