Tom Ka Gai (Coconut Chicken Soup) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2010
I made this tonight and it was great! Like some of the reviews stated I used chicken broth instead of water and it turned out well. I added 1 tsp of lemongrass paste. No tumeric and no pepper. Toward the end I also added sliced white onion and some mushrooms with the cilantro...and about 4 TBSP of sugar. It sounds like a lot be it works. And finally.....shrimp instead of chicken! Add it during the last two minutes and it turns out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lauren
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2010
I don't understand all the rave reviews for this soup. It is lacking the most basic flavors (such as lemon grass) and incorporates weird flavors like turmeric (which does not go in coconut chicken soup at all and totally ruins it!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2010
Very yummy, but made a few alterations: added about 4 tbsp of truvia to add some sweetness. Also added an extra tsp of powdered Ginger, as we really like a strong Ginger flavor. Used lite organic coconut milk. Next time I will add more chicken and mushroom as well. Overall a great base recipe. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MyLauraLee

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2010
I really like that this has easily accessible ingredients (although it is missing that truly authentic flavor) and is SO easy to make. We all agreed that we would prefer it without the chicken---it didn't add any great flavor so if I want to add protein to this I will use tofu next time. Really a fun tasting soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Newberry, Michigan, USA
Living In: Rhinelander, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2010
Yum! It's been 11 years since I ate Tom Ka Gai at Sailor's Thai in Sydney, Australia. To the best of my memory this is an excellent knock off. I know that they used Kaffir lime leaves and lemon grass- but this tasted so similar. I did add some (2 Tablespoons) of the fresh lemongrass herb blend by Gourmet Garden. I'll be making this again - it is especially quick to put together too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristen Foery

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lone Tree, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sopenia
Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2010
Terrific with leftover roasted chicken and I didn´t have to saute them in oil first, which made the recipe even easier and healthier; just dump everything into the pot and boil. Put in 3 ginger slices (quarter sized), a pounded lemongrass stalk, one whole kaffir lime leaf, and 2 whole cloves of garlic so that all can be easily removed before serving. I didn´t use tumeric nor green onion this time and substituted chili flakes for the cayenne. It was hard to keep to the exact measurements; just tasted and adjusted along the way. Added mushrooms for bulk. This is definitely worth a try not just for its exotic flavor but for its quick assembly as long as you have most of the ingredients in the pantry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sopenia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2010
This recipe is good, but I am not a big soup fan. I noticed this is almost exactly the same as the "yellow curry" served in westernized Thai restaurants. So I omit the water and serve with rice. Excellent. I have used powered lime and ginger instead of fresh and it's still good. Altering the amount of lime really changes the flavour, so you can play with it depending on what you feel like. I also add uncooked onions in so they cook with the sauce and it's wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2010
Turned out very much like the restaurant version. I added more chicken, mushrooms, and cayenne than the recipe called for and it worked. Was hesitant on the large amount of fish sauce but it was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Veritas

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Johns Creek, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2010
excellent soup, everyone that I have made this for loves it! I've used light coconut milk to make it a bit healthier it doesn't change the great flavor. I have also substituted shrimp for the chicken, and I actually prefer it that way now. Very easy and very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2010
This was an excellent and quick dish, save a few minor changes... (1) definately use chicken broth instead of water (2) forget about the fish sauce and tumeric. I also added a few think slices of ginger as well as the minced pieces giving more texture, doubled the lime juice and include the pulp, if you can this will nicely balanced the flavor of the coconut
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pasadena, California, USA
Living In: Long Beach, California, USA

Displaying results 51-60 (of 175) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Chicken Thai Soup

See Chef John’s tasty version of spicy Thai chicken soup.

Chef John's Coconut Chicken Curry

Watch Chef John make a fantastic faux-curry chicken dish.

Nong’s Khao Man Gai Chicken

See how one determined cook turned a tasty Thai dish into a recipe for success.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States