Tom Ka Gai (Coconut Chicken Soup) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2011
Very good - took the advice of another reviewer and added about 2 TBS of raw sugar. Added a half cup of brown rice to the bowl when I served it to round out the meal and everyone liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2011
I was so excited to try this soup and will make it again sometime with some modification....While lime/lemon flavor is essential, 1/4 cup is too much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2011
A-MAZ-ING! I changed a few things based on other reviews. I used left-over chicken from the night before, chicken stock instead of water, I left out the cayenne and turmeric, I added half a can of sweetened shredded coconut to balance fish sauce, culantro instead of cilantro, 1 cups broccoli slaw, and served it over brown rice. It was so good! Pretty fast too, I would make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Breanna W.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2011
This was absolutely amazing and simple. I even had to substitute powdered ginger for regular and it was great. I coated the chicken in flour and pan seared them so that they woud retain their moisture and tenderness, also used a can of light coconut milk and reduced the cilantro by half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
Not quite authentic but my oh my was it tasty!!! Will def make again soon minus the tumeric :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by buckinz

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2010
Not quite the Tom Ka Gai I was expecting but delicious none the less. Poured the soup over white rice and dotted with Sriracha. Great rainy day soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CRAKRJAP

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oceanside, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2010
I don't know where I went wrong. I followed the suggestion from one of the reviewers regarding the added rings of lime. Then I added a 3 stems of lemongrass. (perhaps the lemongrass was too old, is that possible) Other than that I followed the recipe as directed. My soup started off on the money. It tasted so good. Then after the 15 minutes of simmer time it went from wonderful to YUCK....very bitter. So bitter in fact that it's inedible. I don't know what I may have done wrong. The recipe seems to be a good one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2010
I took the advice of a reader and used some chicken broth. I also added mushrooms since I've had it that way in a resturant, it was amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2010
Fantastic! Didn't use chicken or tumeric and added mushrooms and splenda. So fast and good... UPDATE: oh yeah, forgot the green onions, but didn't miss them and in place of ginger I used a ginger blend that I found in the produce section - pretty sure it's a mixture of fresh chopped ginger and sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Camarillo, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2010
Good with suggested additions!! Next time we're going to hunt down some lemongrass to put in!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ABALONE25

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kidron, Ohio, USA
Living In: Massillon, Ohio, USA

Displaying results 41-50 (of 175) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Chicken Thai Soup

See Chef John’s tasty version of spicy Thai chicken soup.

Chef John's Coconut Chicken Curry

Watch Chef John make a fantastic faux-curry chicken dish.

The Best Thai Coconut Soup

A delicious, must-have soup recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States