Tom Ka Gai (Coconut Chicken Soup) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2011
I loved this recipe. I added cumin and coriander and substituted srirachi sauce for the cayenne, peanut oil for the vegetable oil and chicken stock for the water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mark

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brockton, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Corvallis, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2011
My husband really enjoyed this soup but the rest of my family did not. The coconut milk was really heavy; I prefer a much more broth-ier version of this soup. I couldn't find light coconut milk in my store or I would've used that. Next time, I'll add a can of chicken stock and a can of coconut milk instead of two cans of coconut milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mountain View, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Rocklin, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2011
Delicious and easy! I added a little lemongrass since I had some on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2011
I split the amount of ginger noted in half and also added a T of lemongrass, raw cubed tomato, a small can of shittake, and a big clove of grated garlic, and Marisa says it needs a smidge of extra lime juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2011
We eat a lot of Thai A LOT!!! OF GREAT THAI!! This is a great fast quick Mock Tom Ka Gai!! Quick Easy no hard to find stuff, I do add Lemon grass and use stock instead of water but other then that its great easy 30 min meal :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2011
This is delicious! The only changes I made were adding one cup of water instead of two, adding 1/4 cup of white wine to the chicken while it was cooking, and using chipotle chile powder instead of cayenne. (The only reason I did that was because we happened to have chipotle around the house, but had no cayenne.) I will definitely make this again, maybe add some veggies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2011
Yum! We consumed the whole pot. Yes, it's a mock version. But even the Asian markets here don't carry the real ingredients so I think this is marvelous. Serve over rice. Add some sugar- a few tablespoons- to bring it all together. Leave out turmeric.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura D.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2011
If you have a favorite Thai Restaurant, you'll try to duplicate their dishes. This comes close. I used a can of chicken broth for some of the water, 1 can of creme of coconut, 1 tbs. TomKaGai concentrate and 1 tsp. Thai chili paste.....no cayenne pepper needed with this, nor the ginger root as it's contained in the other two ingredients. You'll need to find a good Oriental market for some of these speciality ingredients. A smidgen of sugar is a good addition: 1/2 tsp. will suffice That fish sauce is just an imperative! Toooooooo yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2011
Very good - took the advice of another reviewer and added about 2 TBS of raw sugar. Added a half cup of brown rice to the bowl when I served it to round out the meal and everyone liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2011
I was so excited to try this soup and will make it again sometime with some modification....While lime/lemon flavor is essential, 1/4 cup is too much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 173) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Chicken Thai Soup

See Chef John’s tasty version of spicy Thai chicken soup.

Chef John's Coconut Chicken Curry

Watch Chef John make a fantastic faux-curry chicken dish.

Nong’s Khao Man Gai Chicken

See how one determined cook turned a tasty Thai dish into a recipe for success.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States