Tom Ka Gai (Coconut Chicken Soup) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2011
I loved this recipe. I added cumin and coriander and substituted srirachi sauce for the cayenne, peanut oil for the vegetable oil and chicken stock for the water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mark

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brockton, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Corvallis, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2011
My husband really enjoyed this soup but the rest of my family did not. The coconut milk was really heavy; I prefer a much more broth-ier version of this soup. I couldn't find light coconut milk in my store or I would've used that. Next time, I'll add a can of chicken stock and a can of coconut milk instead of two cans of coconut milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mountain View, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Rocklin, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2011
Delicious and easy! I added a little lemongrass since I had some on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2011
I split the amount of ginger noted in half and also added a T of lemongrass, raw cubed tomato, a small can of shittake, and a big clove of grated garlic, and Marisa says it needs a smidge of extra lime juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2011
We eat a lot of Thai A LOT!!! OF GREAT THAI!! This is a great fast quick Mock Tom Ka Gai!! Quick Easy no hard to find stuff, I do add Lemon grass and use stock instead of water but other then that its great easy 30 min meal :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2011
This is delicious! The only changes I made were adding one cup of water instead of two, adding 1/4 cup of white wine to the chicken while it was cooking, and using chipotle chile powder instead of cayenne. (The only reason I did that was because we happened to have chipotle around the house, but had no cayenne.) I will definitely make this again, maybe add some veggies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2011
Yum! We consumed the whole pot. Yes, it's a mock version. But even the Asian markets here don't carry the real ingredients so I think this is marvelous. Serve over rice. Add some sugar- a few tablespoons- to bring it all together. Leave out turmeric.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura D.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2011
If you have a favorite Thai Restaurant, you'll try to duplicate their dishes. This comes close. I used a can of chicken broth for some of the water, 1 can of creme of coconut, 1 tbs. TomKaGai concentrate and 1 tsp. Thai chili paste.....no cayenne pepper needed with this, nor the ginger root as it's contained in the other two ingredients. You'll need to find a good Oriental market for some of these speciality ingredients. A smidgen of sugar is a good addition: 1/2 tsp. will suffice That fish sauce is just an imperative! Toooooooo yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2011
Very good - took the advice of another reviewer and added about 2 TBS of raw sugar. Added a half cup of brown rice to the bowl when I served it to round out the meal and everyone liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2011
I was so excited to try this soup and will make it again sometime with some modification....While lime/lemon flavor is essential, 1/4 cup is too much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 173) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Chicken Thai Soup

See Chef John’s tasty version of spicy Thai chicken soup.

Chef John's Coconut Chicken Curry

Watch Chef John make a fantastic faux-curry chicken dish.

Nong’s Khao Man Gai Chicken

See how one determined cook turned a tasty Thai dish into a recipe for success.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States