Tom Ka Gai (Coconut Chicken Soup) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2012
Despite being a mock version of Tom Ka Gai, it was really good, and the taste very similar to that of the dish in thai restaurants. I added chopped mushrooms, bamboo shoots, and chopped tomatoes to mine to give it a bit more of a robust texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2012
I added lemongrass from another suggestion. This soup is fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by deebert

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marietta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Cartersville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2012
As a previous commenter said, at first this was gross. It really needed some lemongras and sugar and then it was awesome. I added almost 1/4 cup of sugar, but it will probably depend on the type of coconut milk you use. Just add to taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2012
I followed other reviews by adding lemongrass to the cooking chicken. I reduced the fish sauce by half out of fear, and the soup was still WAAAY too fishy, so I started scrambling trying to compensate for the fish taste. No matter what I tried, it's not working for me. I'm really disappointed. This sounded SO good when I first stumbled across it! I'm sticking with curries from now on when I want Thai.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vancouver, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
I was pleasantly surprised at how close this is to what I get out of a Thai hot pot at an authentic ethnic restaurant! Absolutely delicious! After reading the reviews, I added 2TBSP of sugar and left out the turmeric. I added a few shiitake mushrooms and 1 teaspoon of lemongrass paste. Next time I will make it with chicken broth instead of water and hope to find galangal and lime leaves to refine the flavor. Thanks for the recipe. This will be a staple in our home!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by YayHeaven

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Torrance, California, USA
Living In: Anaheim, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2011
very good soup served with 2 cups rice. I added a tablespoon of sugar and eliminated the turmeric.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2011
I've always wanted to try Tom Ka Gai, but always get Chicken Panang when I go to a Thai restaraunt. This was excellent! I did add 1 TBS of palm sugar. Thai food should be salty, sour, sweet, and spicy. I also added sweet peppers and rice noodles to make it hardy for dinner. Definitely going to make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by smicer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oxford, Ohio, USA
Living In: Westville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2011
I don't try this recipe but have some suggestion. Normally when we cook soup which need to add lime juice, we will add it after we remove the soup from heat. So suggest to add lime juice after you remove the soup from the heat. Adding lime juice during boiling, making it has bitter taste. This is Thai's trick. This method is applied for Tom yam as well. For authentic Tom Kah Kai version, we don't need to sautee the chicken in the oil too. And most important thing for this dish, don't make the coconut curd.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bangkok, Bangkok (Krung Thep Maha Nakhon), Thailand

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2011
wonderful! so warm and yummy and satisfying! I reduced the fish sauce out of fear; added some sugar per other users comments; and added some dried lemongrass. was amazing. even my husband liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erika

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2011
The simplicity of this soup is SO awesome. I used chicken broth instead of water, left out turmeric, and added lemongrass. I also added fresh tomato chunks and sliced mushrooms, because all the Thai restaurants around here serve it that way, SO GOOD!!! (throw the tomato in at the end, just long enough for them to get warm.) I was hesitant to use 4 tablespoons of fish sauce, but I'm SO glad I did. Something would be missing without it. Finally, I cut some calories by using light coconut milk and non-fat, low sodium chicken broth. Tastes so much like the restaurant version! AWESOME!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 173) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Chicken Thai Soup

See Chef John’s tasty version of spicy Thai chicken soup.

Nong’s Khao Man Gai Chicken

See how one determined cook turned a tasty Thai dish into a recipe for success.

The Best Thai Coconut Soup

A delicious, must-have soup recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States