Tom Ka Gai (Coconut Chicken Soup) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
I was pleasantly surprised at how close this is to what I get out of a Thai hot pot at an authentic ethnic restaurant! Absolutely delicious! After reading the reviews, I added 2TBSP of sugar and left out the turmeric. I added a few shiitake mushrooms and 1 teaspoon of lemongrass paste. Next time I will make it with chicken broth instead of water and hope to find galangal and lime leaves to refine the flavor. Thanks for the recipe. This will be a staple in our home!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by YayHeaven

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Torrance, California, USA
Living In: Anaheim, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2011
very good soup served with 2 cups rice. I added a tablespoon of sugar and eliminated the turmeric.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2011
I've always wanted to try Tom Ka Gai, but always get Chicken Panang when I go to a Thai restaraunt. This was excellent! I did add 1 TBS of palm sugar. Thai food should be salty, sour, sweet, and spicy. I also added sweet peppers and rice noodles to make it hardy for dinner. Definitely going to make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by smicer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oxford, Ohio, USA
Living In: Westville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2011
I don't try this recipe but have some suggestion. Normally when we cook soup which need to add lime juice, we will add it after we remove the soup from heat. So suggest to add lime juice after you remove the soup from the heat. Adding lime juice during boiling, making it has bitter taste. This is Thai's trick. This method is applied for Tom yam as well. For authentic Tom Kah Kai version, we don't need to sautee the chicken in the oil too. And most important thing for this dish, don't make the coconut curd.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bangkok, Bangkok (Krung Thep Maha Nakhon), Thailand

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2011
wonderful! so warm and yummy and satisfying! I reduced the fish sauce out of fear; added some sugar per other users comments; and added some dried lemongrass. was amazing. even my husband liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erika

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2011
The simplicity of this soup is SO awesome. I used chicken broth instead of water, left out turmeric, and added lemongrass. I also added fresh tomato chunks and sliced mushrooms, because all the Thai restaurants around here serve it that way, SO GOOD!!! (throw the tomato in at the end, just long enough for them to get warm.) I was hesitant to use 4 tablespoons of fish sauce, but I'm SO glad I did. Something would be missing without it. Finally, I cut some calories by using light coconut milk and non-fat, low sodium chicken broth. Tastes so much like the restaurant version! AWESOME!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2011
I loved this recipe. I added cumin and coriander and substituted srirachi sauce for the cayenne, peanut oil for the vegetable oil and chicken stock for the water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mark

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brockton, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Corvallis, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2011
My husband really enjoyed this soup but the rest of my family did not. The coconut milk was really heavy; I prefer a much more broth-ier version of this soup. I couldn't find light coconut milk in my store or I would've used that. Next time, I'll add a can of chicken stock and a can of coconut milk instead of two cans of coconut milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mountain View, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Rocklin, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2011
Delicious and easy! I added a little lemongrass since I had some on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2011
I split the amount of ginger noted in half and also added a T of lemongrass, raw cubed tomato, a small can of shittake, and a big clove of grated garlic, and Marisa says it needs a smidge of extra lime juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 169) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Chicken Thai Soup

See Chef John’s tasty version of spicy Thai chicken soup.

Nong’s Khao Man Gai Chicken

See how one determined cook turned a tasty Thai dish into a recipe for success.

Chef John's Coconut Chicken Curry

Watch Chef John make a fantastic faux-curry chicken dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States