Tom Ka Gai (Coconut Chicken Soup) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2012
This is excellent!! The only change I made was that I used soy sauce instead of fish sauce for dietary reasons. I wish it was a little spicier, so I would add more cayenne pepper next time, or maybe some red pepper flakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2012
This turned out wonderful! I am so glad my sister recommended this recipe to me, Sept 2012. I left out the oil, cayenne pepper and turmeric. Things I changed: chicken broth instead of water, 1 Tbsp soy sauce instead of fish sauce, chicken drumsticks cooked in the soup instead of boneless chicken meat, finely chopped crystallized ginger instead of fresh ginger. I think I should add chicken pieces instead of chicken drumsticks, a little more soy sauce and ginger next time. Honey thought the soup was okay, but he would rather have the real thing instead of this version. W thought it was good and K didn't really like it. I ended up eating most of the soup and thought it was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scarborough Fair

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Prunedale, California, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2012
This was easy to prepare with ingredients on hand. I did use the trick another reviewer mentioned to add some sugar with the fish sauce. I will try to add lemon grass next time but I usually don't have on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2012
Just the way I remember it from my favorite Thai restaurant. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shadowbright

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Arlington, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2012
This is an awesome soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Olathe, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2012
Despite being a mock version of Tom Ka Gai, it was really good, and the taste very similar to that of the dish in thai restaurants. I added chopped mushrooms, bamboo shoots, and chopped tomatoes to mine to give it a bit more of a robust texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2012
I added lemongrass from another suggestion. This soup is fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by deebert

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marietta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Cartersville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2012
As a previous commenter said, at first this was gross. It really needed some lemongras and sugar and then it was awesome. I added almost 1/4 cup of sugar, but it will probably depend on the type of coconut milk you use. Just add to taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2012
I followed other reviews by adding lemongrass to the cooking chicken. I reduced the fish sauce by half out of fear, and the soup was still WAAAY too fishy, so I started scrambling trying to compensate for the fish taste. No matter what I tried, it's not working for me. I'm really disappointed. This sounded SO good when I first stumbled across it! I'm sticking with curries from now on when I want Thai.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vancouver, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
I was pleasantly surprised at how close this is to what I get out of a Thai hot pot at an authentic ethnic restaurant! Absolutely delicious! After reading the reviews, I added 2TBSP of sugar and left out the turmeric. I added a few shiitake mushrooms and 1 teaspoon of lemongrass paste. Next time I will make it with chicken broth instead of water and hope to find galangal and lime leaves to refine the flavor. Thanks for the recipe. This will be a staple in our home!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by YayHeaven

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Torrance, California, USA
Living In: Anaheim, California, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 168) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Chicken Thai Soup

See Chef John’s tasty version of spicy Thai chicken soup.

Nong’s Khao Man Gai Chicken

See how one determined cook turned a tasty Thai dish into a recipe for success.

Chef John's Coconut Chicken Curry

Watch Chef John make a fantastic faux-curry chicken dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States