Tom Ka Gai (Coconut Chicken Soup) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2006
Excellent recipe. I fell in love with this soup at a local Thai restaurant and I think this is just as good. I followed the advice of some of the reviewers and I added the sugar. I ended up using a 1:2 ratio of fish sauce to sugar. Yep, I had 8 Tablespoons of sugar but man, it made the difference. Generally, Thai food does have sugar in it's dishes. I loved it and I did add the lemongrass. I would like to add next time, the kiffer leaves and galanga to make it more authentic. I also did not include the tumeric because this soup should be white in color, not yellow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Santa Clara, California, USA
Photo by LynnInHK
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2006
When I made this following the recipe exactly I thought it tasted horrible. Then I added lemongrass and let it infuse with the chicken and left out the tumeric (coconut soup should be white). Finally, I remembered when I took a cooking lesson from a Thai chef, she said to always always add sugar when using fish sauce. I forgot the exact proportion by went by taste (had to add quite a lot). Voila! Now it's perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
190 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LynnInHK

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Centreville, Virginia, USA
Living In: Hong Kong, Hong Kong Island, Hong Kong

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2005
I have used this recipe on numerous occasions and find that it is even better than ones I have tried in Thai Restaurants. All my friends love it. One of them is actually from Thailand and her recipe is nearly identical and she loves this one as well. Job well done it is delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Whitehorse, Yukon, Canada
Living In: Campbellford, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2005
Very delicate and interesting broth...plus very easy to put together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2005
We just had this with supper tonight. It had a really nice blend of flavors. Super quick!! - I used a store bought rotissery chicken and it was ready in less than 10 mins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2005
We absolutely love this soup! The only changes that I have made is to substitute 2 T. soy sauce for 2 T. of the fish sauce. I also cut back on the cayenne and tumeric. I added halved cherry tomatoes and sliced mushrooms (this is how they serve it at a local Thai restaurant) We frequently have dinner with friends born and raised in different parts of Asia and we all contribute foods from our country- this is a great addition to represent Thailand!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Kettering, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2005
AMAZING! I have made this soup nearly half a dozen times since I found it and have added shrip, garlic prawns and sliced mushrooms to it and everytime it dissapears withing a couple days. This is a very hard recipe to mess up and is great the day after. It looks nothing like the picture shown (much more yellow) and cilantro should not be added to the soup until it is in your bowl as it turns brown and slimy if you have any leftovers in the fridge for any lenth of time. Also it separates when chilled and left for a while but just give it a stir and it is like you just made it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2005
Super good and easy too. I used red curry paste instead of cayenne pepper for a hotter thai flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Watertown, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Oregon City, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2005
5 stars says it all. As good as any I've had at many Thai restaurants. I added a little curry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2005
So yummy. Made this tonight and was only sad at how fattening it must be. Added 1 lb shrimp, mushrooms, water chestnuts and used lemon grass powder instead of real lemon grass. Seemed to work fine. Also added about 1 tsp of red curry paste and used japanese Dashi instead of fish sauce. (Dashi is a powdered fish stock.) Will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 175) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Chicken Thai Soup

See Chef John’s tasty version of spicy Thai chicken soup.

Chef John's Coconut Chicken Curry

Watch Chef John make a fantastic faux-curry chicken dish.

The Best Thai Coconut Soup

A delicious, must-have soup recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States