Tom Ka Gai (Coconut Chicken Soup) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2006
I love Tom Ka Gai. I would always make my husband order it when we went out to a local Thai restaurant, but when I found this recipe my husband liked mine better. This is a very good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alison

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Richville, New York, USA
Living In: Norwood, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2006
Follow the recipe exactly. I used Quorn Chunks instead of chicken, as my partner is vegetarian. Works really well, she loved it! I also added a potato or two, diced!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2006
This soup was delicious! I recently tried this for the first time at a restaurant, and had been looking for a comparable recipe. I substituted chicken broth for the water, left out the turmeric, and used some Thai chili sauce I had lying around in place of the cayenne. This is a tasty base to play around with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2006
My husband really like this but I didn't think it was nearly as good as the one we had at the restaurant. Reduce the amount of fish sauce by 1/2. Also, add more red pepper to spice it up. The tumeric does indeed turn the soup a neon yellow, but it also goes with the territory.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dgoodcookr

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fond Du Lac, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Kyle, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2006
This soup was tasty, and has a distinctive flavor because of the lime juice. My boyfriend really loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2006
I'm sure I just did something wrong, but this curdled and looked disgusting. The flavor was fine, but I was disappointed overall.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Washington, D.C., USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2006
Whoa, this was WAY too salty, to the point of being inedible. If I made this again, I would start with 2 tbsp of fish sauce instead of 4. I don't know if it was the particular brand I used, but it overwhelmed all the other flavors. I couldn't even taste the coconut. I gave this three stars because I think it would have been good otherwise. My husband also thought there was too much ginger, and it turned out yellow because of the tumeric. Next time I would probably use a lemongrass infusion instead as others suggested, and only use 1 tbsp of ginger.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2006
This recipe made my stomach feel odd. Too much lime juice makes it really difficult to eat, even the next day the flavours dont mellow out much. A waste of chicken really.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2006
YUM! This was very delicious but I did't have any lime juice on hand, so I used 1 1/2 TBS of lemon juice. It was just as good! I also added Kafir lime leaves (shredded) and lemon grass and left out the tumeric. My hubby loved it and it was so easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by thisgurlluvs2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2006
Delicious, but I changed things up a bit. Added straw mushrooms and chopped baby corn, 1TBSP of my own curry powder instead of tumeric, and chile paste instead of the cayenne. Turned out delicious. Definately worth the (minimal) investment of time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Ogden, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 168) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Chicken Thai Soup

See Chef John’s tasty version of spicy Thai chicken soup.

Nong’s Khao Man Gai Chicken

See how one determined cook turned a tasty Thai dish into a recipe for success.

Chef John's Coconut Chicken Curry

Watch Chef John make a fantastic faux-curry chicken dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States