Tom Ka Gai (Coconut Chicken Soup) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2007
This was very good! MY friends loved it. It wasn't exactly the same as what I'd had in a restaurant, but it was still quite good. I used the soy sauce and lemongrass as others suggested over the fish sauce and whatnot. It was still quite good - I recommend it for anyone who enjoys a good, hearty soup with some spice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jonesboro, Georgia, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2006
I love Tom Ka Gai. I would always make my husband order it when we went out to a local Thai restaurant, but when I found this recipe my husband liked mine better. This is a very good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alison

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Richville, New York, USA
Living In: Norwood, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2006
Follow the recipe exactly. I used Quorn Chunks instead of chicken, as my partner is vegetarian. Works really well, she loved it! I also added a potato or two, diced!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2006
This soup was delicious! I recently tried this for the first time at a restaurant, and had been looking for a comparable recipe. I substituted chicken broth for the water, left out the turmeric, and used some Thai chili sauce I had lying around in place of the cayenne. This is a tasty base to play around with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2006
My husband really like this but I didn't think it was nearly as good as the one we had at the restaurant. Reduce the amount of fish sauce by 1/2. Also, add more red pepper to spice it up. The tumeric does indeed turn the soup a neon yellow, but it also goes with the territory.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dgoodcookr

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fond Du Lac, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Kyle, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2006
This soup was tasty, and has a distinctive flavor because of the lime juice. My boyfriend really loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2006
I'm sure I just did something wrong, but this curdled and looked disgusting. The flavor was fine, but I was disappointed overall.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Washington, D.C., USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2006
Whoa, this was WAY too salty, to the point of being inedible. If I made this again, I would start with 2 tbsp of fish sauce instead of 4. I don't know if it was the particular brand I used, but it overwhelmed all the other flavors. I couldn't even taste the coconut. I gave this three stars because I think it would have been good otherwise. My husband also thought there was too much ginger, and it turned out yellow because of the tumeric. Next time I would probably use a lemongrass infusion instead as others suggested, and only use 1 tbsp of ginger.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2006
This recipe made my stomach feel odd. Too much lime juice makes it really difficult to eat, even the next day the flavours dont mellow out much. A waste of chicken really.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2006
YUM! This was very delicious but I did't have any lime juice on hand, so I used 1 1/2 TBS of lemon juice. It was just as good! I also added Kafir lime leaves (shredded) and lemon grass and left out the tumeric. My hubby loved it and it was so easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by thisgurlluvs2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 169) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Spicy Chicken Thai Soup

See Chef John’s tasty version of spicy Thai chicken soup.

Nong’s Khao Man Gai Chicken

See how one determined cook turned a tasty Thai dish into a recipe for success.

The Best Thai Coconut Soup

A delicious, must-have soup recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States