Tom Ka Gai (Coconut Chicken Soup) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: May 18, 2008
This is a good base for Tom Ka Gai (or a tofu version). The addition of salt and lemon grass, with a long simmer time, make this recipe very yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2008
This recipe is awesome. To prevent curdling of coconut milk keep soup at a lower temperature. I kept it at 200 degrees. Do not bring it to a boil. Also try to stir continuously. I added thai chili sauce instead of cayenne, canned straw mushrooms, a pinch of sugar, low sodium chicken broth instead of water, 2 tbs of soy sauce with fish sauce, lime slices. I did not mince the ginger I cut it in visible slices so that you could pick them out. I did not use turmeric. It tasted just like the tom ka at my favorite Thai place. With a brand new baby it's hard to go out to eat so I am so glad that I could recreate this soup at home with the help of this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by joy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waterbury, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2008
Would recommend adding sugar to taste to balance out the saltiness that other reviewers mention. I believe the Thai people add sugar to their food like we add salt/pepper to ours. At least that's how it is at my local Thai restaurant. I added rice, mushrooms, and red cabbage for extra vitamins and color.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2008
This is such a great soup! I add mushrooms (the smaller the better) and put a scoop of rice in the bowl before I ladel the soup in. Very Very Good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Roanoke, Virginia, USA
Living In: Salem, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2008
This soup was good, but not quite the same as the Thai restaurant. It was kinda tart/sour and missing a - I don't know, maybe more coconut?? Still not too bad and pretty quick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JEANIE_STENSON

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Stow, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2007
I would give this 6 stars if I could. My family LOVES Thai food, and particulartly the coconut chicken soup. Imagine my surprise when I found this extraordinarily simple and quick recipe that is just delicious! My only substitutions were to use low fat coconut milk, to switch the water for chicken broth and I also left out the turmeric. Amazing, fast, and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2007
Deliciousness is all I can say. For those of you who aren't into ethnic food, you probably won't like the taste of this soup. But for fans of Thai food, this is rivals my favorite restaurant and it's super easy. I added lemongrass because I found it at my local grocery store, plus udon noodles and mushrooms to make it more substantial. I LOVE it. I'll definitely make this again. Also, don't be afraid of the fish sauce. It doens't taste like it smells. My husband was afraid to try the soup because of that smell, but once I convinced him he loved it too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2007
My husband thinks I should give is 4 1/2 stars and I thought closer to 4. That being said, I made a few changes. We put shrimp, mushrooms and spinach in the soup instead of chicken and I didn't add the tumeric but used soy sauce and some sugar on the advice of other reviews. Also added fresh lime juice and a little lemon juice. I topped with scallions but won't do that next time. Thanks for a quick and easy - hubby wants it in the regular rotation!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Prince Rupert, British Columbia, Canada
Living In: Jericho, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2007
Awesome! So easy to make and tastes great. I followed the recipe exactly but my husband and I like it spicy so I added a couple slices of fresh jalapeno. I served it with rice as a side dish and that made it even better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KelBel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2007
This was gorgeous! I added 2 1/2 x the lime juice and extra fish sauce. I also added baby spinach and julienne slice of red pepper (made it more interesting to look at.) Huge hit with my husband.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 175) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Chicken Thai Soup

See Chef John’s tasty version of spicy Thai chicken soup.

Chef John's Coconut Chicken Curry

Watch Chef John make a fantastic faux-curry chicken dish.

The Best Thai Coconut Soup

A delicious, must-have soup recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States