Tom Ka Gai (Coconut Chicken Soup) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2008
I'm not sure how I feel about this recipe. I didn't like it initially, but it kind of grew on me half way through the bowl. I did add sugar like some other reviewers suggested, as well as lemongrass. My husband liked it. He thought it tasted like those frito-lay hint of lime tortilla chips. I don't know if I'll make it again. It probably has nothing to do with the recipe though. I've never had the soup before in a Thai restaurant, either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2008
was soooo good!! just added cooked jasmine rice to the bottom of the bowl before serving. was really good. thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2008
used chicken broth instead of water. Great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2008
I made this this weekend and my only complaint is I should have made a double batch!!! I love making stews and soups and this is the fastest I have ever seen something disappear. A taste explosion was the shared response.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Larry Daugherty

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oil City, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Dade City, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2008
This tastes exactly like the soup we loved at our favorite Thai restaurant. This soup is going into my regular meal rotation. We sent a bowl to our neighbor, and he called back 15 mintues later proclaiming it was the best chicken soup he had ever tasted. If you like Thai food, you should try this soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2008
Not a bad start, but as many people have noted this recipe needs significant alteration.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mcdonough, Georgia, USA
Living In: Douglas, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2008
Just excellent. I had about 1.5lb chicken breast that I cooked with some lime/garlic seasoning and then chopped very small. I used the lemon zester to grate a large hunk of fresh ginger into the pot. It needed a few cloves of crushed garlic, quite a moderate amount of cayanne, and I didn't have mushrooms so I diced up a few stalks of celery and sauteed in the same pot I cooked the chicken in, until they were soft. It needed noodles, I used rice sticks but they had a funky texture. Today Guido is taking care of me (I just broke a toe) and he boiled up some egg noodles. It's really good. Oh, I thin sliced 1 jalapeno, in that went, and I used chicken stock and some extra chicken stock base. It's missing lemon grass but who cares, it's VERY good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2008
My husband and I love Thai food and have had this soup at several great Thai restaurants in Atlanta. As always, before using a recipe, I read reviews. Based on many reviews, I doubled the lime juice and added sugar. I also increased the cayenne a bit. My husband and I BOTH loved this soup. It was simple (other than having to run to the grocery to get "fish sauce") and quick. Highly recommended. We will definitely add this one to our "delish" box.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2008
Made this recipe without the fish sauce, green onions and turmeric. I was skeptical, because it didn't call for lemon grass, which is traditionally called for and because I lacked the above mentioned ingredients, but boy was it yummy. This is better than I've had at restaurants. A definite keeper. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2008
This is a good base for Tom Ka Gai (or a tofu version). The addition of salt and lemon grass, with a long simmer time, make this recipe very yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 174) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Chicken Thai Soup

See Chef John’s tasty version of spicy Thai chicken soup.

Chef John's Coconut Chicken Curry

Watch Chef John make a fantastic faux-curry chicken dish.

Nong’s Khao Man Gai Chicken

See how one determined cook turned a tasty Thai dish into a recipe for success.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States