Tom Ka Gai (Coconut Chicken Soup) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2009
A good substitute when you just can't get out to a Thai restaurant for the real thing. Be sure to add mushrooms. Works fine without lemongrass and substituting lemon for lime juice. Add a touch of sugar, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2009
Was very good, almost like what I get at the restaurant! I took other's suggestions and deleted the turmeric, and added chicken broth instead of the water. I also added plenty of sliced mushrooms, a teaspoon of thai chili paste, lime zest and some fresh lemon grass. Without the extras i think it would have been a bit bland for my taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2009
I made this to see how it compared to "Adrienne's Tom Ka Gai" also from this site. It was very similar, and the lime juice is essential to this recipe! I liked it, but I think I prefer the other recipe which seems to be more flavorful and includes bok choy for more veggie power.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2009
This is a favourite staple now in our house. The kids like it too. I also tested using light coconut milk, like another reviewer and didn't notice the difference in taste. My secret ingredient is a little dash of brown sugar to soften the sour of the lime. If you do this the flavors will come out and the dish won't taste one dimesional. I also add a few red pepper flakes and let my husband add more at the table so that it's not too hot for the kids. I may try a little bit of chile garlic paste next time. I also like to cut my chicken while it's partially frozen, so that I can cut it thin like they do in the Thai restaurants. This is an awesome and EASY recipe that comes really close to the original! If you like Thai flavors you will not be disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Santa Rosa, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2009
i love this soup, but this particular recipe is simply average and i'm not tempted to eat the leftovers unfortunately. my favorite thai restaurant is much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shermil

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Buffalo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2009
I absolutely love this recipe! I have made it twice and will keep on making it. I slightly cut down the fish sauce and turmeric and added fresh kaffir lime leaves and lemongrass. I also used chicken stock instead of water (as other's suggested)and added red pepper near the end of cooking for colour. Delish!!! Thanks so much for sharing this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kiwicook

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2008
MY husband loved this soup.Although I put in some chicken broth and put less of the water. I also put a tablespoon of ground ginger instead of the minced. But the flavor came out very good. Thumbs up if you like spicy soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2008
I don't know how "authentic" this recipe is, but it sure was terrific! It cooked up so fast and has a taste like in a restaurant. I used lite coconut milk. I didn't have fish sauce and couldn't locate my dashi, so I used soy sauce like another cook suggested. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2008
Excellent! made it as is, although did not have tumeric. Really nice in a bowl on rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2008
I'm not sure how I feel about this recipe. I didn't like it initially, but it kind of grew on me half way through the bowl. I did add sugar like some other reviewers suggested, as well as lemongrass. My husband liked it. He thought it tasted like those frito-lay hint of lime tortilla chips. I don't know if I'll make it again. It probably has nothing to do with the recipe though. I've never had the soup before in a Thai restaurant, either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 173) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Chicken Thai Soup

See Chef John’s tasty version of spicy Thai chicken soup.

Chef John's Coconut Chicken Curry

Watch Chef John make a fantastic faux-curry chicken dish.

Nong’s Khao Man Gai Chicken

See how one determined cook turned a tasty Thai dish into a recipe for success.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States