Tom Ka Gai (Coconut Chicken Soup) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2014
This is a great , easy recipe. Lemon grass is not always available ,so I use lemon zest. This adds to a more lemony flavor and is pretty. Add lime and coconut milk at the end with low heat. Do not boil with coconut milk. Use chicken broth instead of water. Makes for a more rich chicken flavor. In the last 10 minutes I add carrot straws just to make this soup pretty. When I serve for quest, I float one shrimp, one very thin slice of lime and green onion in each bowl. I also serve extra chopped cilantro on the side. Guest always love this soup. It looks like you have gone to a lot of trouble just for them. I don't use turmeric.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2014
This was a great recipe for beginners. I used chicken stock instead of water and I skipped the turmeric, cayenne pepper and ginger.I also added mushrooms.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2014
leave out tumeric - added extra chicken and a little brown sugar to mellow out the salty flavor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2013
This is great start for a soup that tastes much like Tom Ka Gai. As stated this is a mock version, without ingredients such as lemongrass or lime leaves. But, since you can get all of these ingredients at any grocery store, it's a good recipe to keep around. After I made this soup as directed, I tasted it. It wasn't exactly what I was looking for. I then added an extra Tbl of fish sauce, another 1/4 tsp of cayenne, and about a quarter cup sugar. I wanted more things to chew in the soup so I added sliced mushrooms and strips of sweet yellow onion. In each individual bowl I added the cilantro and green onion as directed. I also sprinkled extra cayenne on mine, I like it pretty spicy. I refrigerated the left over soup, and reheated it by the bowl the next day, it was much better the next day! The flavors had blended and the ginger had time to flavor the soup. Next time I make it I will either do it ahead or let it heat on the stove longer than the 10-15 minutes in this recipe. I gave it a four because made as the recipe says, it's just not quite right (for my taste) but it is a good base for you to start with and tweak to your taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2013
Wonderful. Like other reviewers, I used chicken stock in place of water (increased to 4 cups - didn't want half a carton of stock to go unused - and it was still creamy and tasty!) and skipped the tumeric. -Simmered the stock with with bruised/crushed lemongrass and large pieces of ginger (instead of minced - roughly a 1 1/2 inch cube, sliced thick). Removed before adding chicken and coconut milk. -Doubled the chicken. -I used substantially more cilantro, too (1/3-1/2 cup). I know it's inaccurate to leave a rating when I've made so many changes, but I appreciate the recipe and how easy it is to play with. Guests and hubby loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Murphy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2013
It's a good soup, but not really Tom Ka Gai - at least not like any that I've had in a restaurant before. I added a few stalks of lemongrass, and it was a very healthy and easy lunch to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2013
Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FrackFamily5

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Catasauqua, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Corona, California, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2013
I have been cooking all types of food for over twenty years, and this is the winner of all recipes I have ever tried. I can't even express how much I enjoy this recipe. It's a go-to recipe about once a month or so. We often substitute shrimp instead of the chicken and it's just amazing. I can't offer anything other than just cook it exactly as the recipe calls for, and you'll be very happy. The flavor is complex while still remaining delicate. I can't recommend this recipe enough. Amazing! I truly love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2013
Wow, this was VERY good! I was hesitant about making it just seeing the ingredients, but after reading all the rave reviews, I thought I'd give it a shot. I used chicken broth instead of water, like other reviewers did, and also added a lemongrass stalk. I added about 2 tablespoons of sugar, too. I also threw in a bunch of quartered mushrooms, and some black pepper. Tastes just as good as the soup I order from the Thai restaurant down the street that I'm so addicted to. YUM! Has just the right amount of heat, too, which is always good in this household. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vero Beach, Florida, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2013
Liked this very much, but made additions and changes. Added Cumin and Lemongrass. Combined "Adrienne's Tom Ka Gai" with this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PurushaNatasha

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 169) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Spicy Chicken Thai Soup

See Chef John’s tasty version of spicy Thai chicken soup.

Nong’s Khao Man Gai Chicken

See how one determined cook turned a tasty Thai dish into a recipe for success.

The Best Thai Coconut Soup

A delicious, must-have soup recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States