Tom Ka Gai (Coconut Chicken Soup) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 12, 2015
This is a family favorite. We serve it over rice. I appreciate that this version leaves out those harder-to-find ingredients. -P.S. I only use one can of coconut milk and always use chicken broth instead of water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by DetectiveL
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2015
This is missing lemongrass. I found it bland, even though I added more ginger and cayenne. I had to put a few TB of green curry paste into it before I liked it; but by then it was a completely different dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DetectiveL

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2015
I made this soup exactly as described, I get cravings for it.... Loved this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2015
I added lemongrass to a chicken stock and Ginger then boiled them all together for about 5 minutes, then drained them all then added the coconut milk and and stock to the stir fried chicken and continued as the recipe said. The coconut milk crumbled but I'll try not to bring the milk to a boil next time. TIP :: If you don't have coconut milk you can use unsweetened coconut flakes ¾ cup hot water + ¼ cup unsweetened coconut flakes I did so then drained it, it tastes good for a quick substitute.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shaimaa Nasr

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2014
Made this soup a few days ago, and my husband likes Thai food, and said it was good. I don't care for Thai food, so I would be a poor judge. I made it as is, except it was after Christmas, so I used left over turkey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2014
This was the first time I tried to make this soup. It came out fantastic. I did alter a bit to my taste. I used 1/2 the fish sauce, a bit of coconut sugar, as someone suggessted and added lemon grass. I also used chicken broth in place of water. I'm making coconut rice to go with this soup! It's stormy outside so this is perfect for today. Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Efendi0822

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Quantico, Virginia, USA
Living In: Salinas, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2014
This is a great , easy recipe. Lemon grass is not always available ,so I use lemon zest. This adds to a more lemony flavor and is pretty. Add lime and coconut milk at the end with low heat. Do not boil with coconut milk. Use chicken broth instead of water. Makes for a more rich chicken flavor. In the last 10 minutes I add carrot straws just to make this soup pretty. When I serve for quest, I float one shrimp, one very thin slice of lime and green onion in each bowl. I also serve extra chopped cilantro on the side. Guest always love this soup. It looks like you have gone to a lot of trouble just for them. I don't use turmeric.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2014
This was a great recipe for beginners. I used chicken stock instead of water and I skipped the turmeric, cayenne pepper and ginger.I also added mushrooms.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2014
leave out tumeric - added extra chicken and a little brown sugar to mellow out the salty flavor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2013
This is great start for a soup that tastes much like Tom Ka Gai. As stated this is a mock version, without ingredients such as lemongrass or lime leaves. But, since you can get all of these ingredients at any grocery store, it's a good recipe to keep around. After I made this soup as directed, I tasted it. It wasn't exactly what I was looking for. I then added an extra Tbl of fish sauce, another 1/4 tsp of cayenne, and about a quarter cup sugar. I wanted more things to chew in the soup so I added sliced mushrooms and strips of sweet yellow onion. In each individual bowl I added the cilantro and green onion as directed. I also sprinkled extra cayenne on mine, I like it pretty spicy. I refrigerated the left over soup, and reheated it by the bowl the next day, it was much better the next day! The flavors had blended and the ginger had time to flavor the soup. Next time I make it I will either do it ahead or let it heat on the stove longer than the 10-15 minutes in this recipe. I gave it a four because made as the recipe says, it's just not quite right (for my taste) but it is a good base for you to start with and tweak to your taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 175) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Chicken Thai Soup

See Chef John’s tasty version of spicy Thai chicken soup.

Chef John's Coconut Chicken Curry

Watch Chef John make a fantastic faux-curry chicken dish.

The Best Thai Coconut Soup

A delicious, must-have soup recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States