Tom and Jerry Batter Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2014
I'd never heard of this before until this past Christmas when I was looking around at different recipes. I liked the flavor and the creaminess it added to a drink. The flavor was perfect for Christmas and reminded me of eggnog. Also, I halved this recipe and still had way more than we could possibly use. Thanks for a new and interesting holiday drink.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2013
planned on following the reciepe exactly but when my mixing bowl would hold no more sugar i stopped, (so i probably used only 2 and 1/4 lbs sugar) It turned out GREAT! I TRIED IT WITH BOTH SPICED RUM AND DARK RUM. Our personal perference was the spiced. A little cognac too! Good night!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2013
Perfect! Exactly as Mama Karla (Mamo) used to make it. One IMPORTANT note, though... Don't do the egg white step first as the instructions say. Separate the eggs and chill the whites white you mix the yolk "section." Keeping the whites "section" cold will keep it from getting "soupy." Otherwise, SPOT ON! P.S. Keeping it frozen and scooping it with an ice cream scoop will also eliminate the "soupy ness." cheers!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2013
This recipe is fantastic!!! AND I have a couple tips to make it a little easier and less messy to make. The final product for this recipe is just as good if not better than the stuff you get at the grocery store, but after making it twice, I discovered a couple things that really help the mixing process. First, the suggested serving size in this recipe is about 1T, and I'm not aware of anyone who doesn't put at least 2T in each glass they make, so consider that when estimating the serving number you want to make (and remember, the batter is fantastic kept frozen, so go ahead and make extra!). I used the serving size calculator to adjust it to 45 servings (and there are only 3 people in our home). This # of servings allows you to use an entire 2lb bag of powdered sugar so there's less mess - no measuring needed. At 45 svgs, it then calls for 7.5 eggs - I used 6 large eggs, and 2 small ones to make that work. The completed batch nicely fills a 1/2 gallon container which I keep in the freezer during Christmastime. For mixing, you will find much less mess if you mix egg whites, and mix the yolks. Then add yolks to butter, plus vanilla, then add the whites, and THEN add the sugar. After all mixed, add spices at the end. This eliminates the cloud of powdered sugar floating around your kitchen, as there is more liquid to help soak it all up. I'm sure there may be a reason for the suggested order, but I've found this sequence a much less messy process. :-) Enjoy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2013
There is a place here in town that is famous for these drinks...what they do is put a half shot of rum and a half shot of brandy in the mug..then almost to the top with boiling water..and top it off with the batter...I want to tell you this recipe is so good...see if you can only have one.. Tom
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2013
Great recipe and a seasonal favorite at our house! We use white rum, brandy, and a splash of creme de cacao or coffee liqueur. For a kid friendly non-alcoholic version, use chocolate, caramel, or mocha coffee flavoring instead of liquor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kteacher

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Belle Fourche, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2013
As a kid, I grew up with a store bought Tom & Jerry batter in the fridge at the holidays. Once we moved away from California as a kid, the Tom and Jerry batter was a thing of holiday memories. I had fond memories of this but never the motivation to make it. This year I mentioned it to my family and they were interested in trying it themselves. With two more folks interested, it was worth my time to make. It IS delicious and how I remember. This is great mixed with just hot water, and I can't wait to put a little whiskey or rum in with it!! I will tell you I used my Kitchen Aide. A whole batch is a bit big for it, so I had to break the recipe into sections. A 1/2 recipe for a Kitchen Aide is ideal. I'll be putting it in ice cube trays to portion it and freeze it since we'll be using it for the next several weeks. Thank you for this recipe - it walked me down holiday memory lane.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2013
I have been using this recipe for 3 years. Wonderful, did not change a thing! Tom and Jerry batter sells for $6 a pint in northern MN. This recipe is better than what is sold in the stores! We serve with brandy and rum - half shot of each, boiling water, then top off with a scoop of batter and nutmeg.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2012
so I made this recipe but I only did a half batch cuz 3 lbs of sugar and a dozen eggs seemed like a lot to me.. but anyhow.. I made the half batch and I omitted the allspice and I added a dash of cinnamon, 2 tbsp. of honey and the seeds of 1 vanilla bean. I also replaces 1/2 a lb of powdered sugar for light brown sugar which gives it nice almost caramel tones.. we make ours with 1 shot of brandy and 1 shot of dark rum and boiling water.. tastes like xmas in a glass :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2012
THIS is what my homemade non-dairy eggnog needed! To be totally honest, I cheated. I didn't want to take the time to follow the directions, and I just threw all the ingredients in a blender (recipe scaled down, of course). It came out tasting absolutely fabulous. Thanks for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CATHERIEN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peoria, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Tom Collins Cocktail

See how to mix up a refreshing classic cocktail.

Hot Buttered Rum Batter

Batter up! It’s hot buttered rum when you need it.

Simple Syrup

A must-have sweetener. It’s not called “simple” for nothing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States