Toll House Walnut Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2013
Not too bad. I called this Derby Pie growing up. Its really sweet, but good. Served it with vanilla ice cream and drizzled with some chocolate syrup. Pretty much just like i remembered it. My son just told me that he really liked the pie. Didn't give it a 5 because i think it could have been a little bit better. I used 1 stick plus 3 tbsp butter. seemed fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Columbus, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2013
I used the 1/2 cup of butter like many others had suggested, it was plenty, and added a splash of vanilla. Also cooked it an extra 12 minutes. We served it only a few minutes after it came out of the oven and it too soft, it was the texture of uncooked cookie dough on the bottom and crispy like a meringue on top. Now that is has cooled overnight, the texture is perfect. It also cuts much better when it has completely cooled.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2010
Followed suggestions to add 1/2 tsp. vanilla and used only 1/2 cup butter. Although it tasted alright, mine certainly did not come out looking like the picture. Quite unappetizing appearance. The chocolate chips took on the consistency as expected and, when set, seemed like an inexpensive dessert. Confident kids will love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2010
this was not good for me it came out so gooey and all the chips stuck to the bottem i wasted time on this !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fran

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Warwick, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Tiverton, Rhode Island, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2009
Just what I was looking for. I used only 1/2 C. of butter and added 1 tsp. of vanilla extract and 1/4 C. of coconut. It was excellent. I did cover the entire pie with foil with 15 minutes of cooking time left so the top was not too brown. I loved this pie!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2008
This is wonderful! *I'm always asked to bring this pie for any function. I did cut the butter to 1/2 cup as the 1 cup was too greasy. Easy and quick don't even need a mixer for this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Warner Robins, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2008
This is extremely easy. I accidently left out the flour and the pie turned out wonderfully
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2008
The taste was excellent but I had to cook it for way more time than it said - baked for an extra 20 min and then let it sit in the warm oven for 30 min more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wauwatosa, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2008
pretty good pretty much a brownie pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by texasbaker25
Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2008
Oh wow this was amazing! So easy and quick and it tastes just like a cookie!!! What more could you want?! I'm keeping this recipe forever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Undead Raziel

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Dannon Oikos Key Lime Pie

Easy key lime pie with Greek-style yogurt bakes up fast!

How to Make Chocolate Pecan Pie

Put a sweet, chocolate twist on classic pecan pie with this recipe.

Kentucky Pecan Pie

See how to make a rich, sweet, and gooey pecan pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States