Toll House Pie I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2007
This pie was very good. I followed the advise of some other reviewers, and cut back the butter to 1/2 cup. When I was rummaging through my freezer looking for a bag of walnuts that was hiding in there, I found a bag of Heath toffee chips, so I threw in about a half a cup of those too. Added a tsp of vanilla, too. My kitchen timer can be playful, and sometime during the timing process, it started counting backwards. That sly little dickens has done this before. I didn't notice it until I smelled the pie getting what I thought was a little too done. I whisked it out of the oven immediately. It was still very good, but I would have liked it a little more gooey. My husband kept asking "When can I eat this pie?", so I let him go at it while it was still hot. We both liked it very much. It was not the recipe's fault that the pie was a tad overdone. Will definitely make this again and keep an eye on my capricious timer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dianemwj

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Burbank, California, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2007
I made this for my holiday party at work and it got rave reviews from my colleagues. I have made it since then and it just bring back wonderful memories of my first cooking job at the SeaDog. The baker there made tollhouse pie and it was just ooey gooey delecious. This definitely needs to be served with a HUGE scoop of vanilla ice cream and a chocolate sauce drizzle!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eddington, Maine, USA
Living In: Brighton, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2007
SOMEONE HELP! IS THIS SUPPOSED TO BE GOOEY LIKE COOKIE DOUGH OR NOT? FOLLOWED DIRECTIONS EXACTLY. GREAT TASTE, BUT I DID NOT WANT ANYONE TO GET SICK ON IT. I BAKED IT 10 MINUTES LONGER CHECKING IT OFTEN. I WOULD GIVE IT A 5 STARS FOR TASTE.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: East Peoria, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2006
My pie did not turn out like everyone else's did but I suspect that is because I baked it for longer than the recipe stated because it looked undone at the recipe time. My husband said though that it was the best pie he has had and loved it. I used pecans instead and topped it with caramel sauce to make it like a turtle cookie pie. USed splenda instead of regular sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Daniel den Hoed

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spijkenisse, Zuid-Holland, Netherlands

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Karen McCleane Mullin
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2006
This was very good. The kids loved it and I served it warm with a scoop of what else but Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough Ice Cream!! I did use only 1/2 cup of butter and put chopped walnuts on half of the pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen McCleane Mullin

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Atlantic City, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2006
This pie was delicious, A nice change from usual pies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winthrop, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2006
Excellent recipe!! Used mini chips instead of regular. Definitely a keeper!! Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brookport, Illinois, USA
Living In: Longview, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2006
Great, EASY recipe. Like the others, I reduced the butter to 1/2 cup. I also microwaved the butter so that it was soft but not melted (instead of melting the whole thing and letting it cool - too much waiting time for me). The texture was perfect! I used a store bought crust which was just okay. I'll make my own next time. Thanks, Janice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JADESTAR

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Diamond Bar, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2006
Good, but better the first day. After that it was pretty hard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2006
My family loves this pie. Its gone within a day when i make it. I always add a whole bag of the chocolate chips instead of just a cup. I think that thats also what fixs the problem with the extra butter that some people said they have. And make sure the butter is cooled when you make this, if you leave the butter hot, it makes the pie gooey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 99) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Peanut Butter Cookie Pie

Allrecipes cook Kelly shares her Peanut Butter Cookie Pie recipe.

Fran’s Angel Food Pie

See the heart-warming story of an enduring Depression-era gift.

Dannon Oikos Key Lime Pie

Easy key lime pie with Greek-style yogurt bakes up fast!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States