Toll House Pie I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2011
Cut the butter in half and it is great!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2011
I have been making this for years. Use toasted pecans and a Keebler shortbread or grahm cracker crust and you will love. Also make sure you let your butter cool, it changes the whole consistancy of the pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2011
Fantastic! I made this for Thanksgiving, and everyone agreed - skip the pumpkin pie next year!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2011
Too buttery? Is there any such thing??? I usually omit the nuts, and it's just as good. Mmmmmm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2011
Delish! I LOVE this pie! I did half the butter as a lot of other reviewers suggested This pie is delicious made with the walnuts! I have also subsituted pecans or toffee bits instead and both yielded amazing results as well so feel free to use what you have on hand!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
I made this for our New Year's day celebration dinner and everyone loved it! The only changes I made were to add 1 tsp pure vanilla extract, a shake of sea salt, and I used a little over a half a bag of the mini semi-sweet morsels instead of the regular sized chips, and pecans instead of walnuts. I used the smaller chocolate morsels to avoid having the chips all settle down to the bottom of the pie during baking as others have complained about. That trick really worked! I also cooked it for 1 hour and 15 minutes to avoid it being underdone (too gooey) as some cooks have mentioned. I tried to cut the butter down to 1/2 cup (which was softened, not melted), but when mixing in the chocolate chips and chopped pecans, I could tell the batter was a little too tight so I added in an extra half a stick (1/4 cup) of softened butter at that point. The texture was great, and the pie crust was so deliciously buttery. I originally thought a cookie crust would have been better than a traditional crust, but it really complimented the cookie filling beautifully. We served it with Cool Whip topping, which was wonderful, but vanilla ice cream would have been great too! I remember getting the recipe for this off the back of the Nestle Chocolate Chips bag and making it for my 18th birthday "cake" years and years ago. I don't know why I waited so long to make it again. I'm sure I will be making it often since I've rediscovered this fantastic pie after all these years. Thanks for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2010
So easy! So delicious! Per others' suggestions, I reduced butter to 3/4 cup, added 1 tsp. vanilla and a dash of salt. I will definitely be making this again...it got rave reviews at Christmas dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2010
Thanks for the tip to cut down the butter. I cut it down by 1/4 and it was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2010
I've baked this pie several times before using the recipe as written. I read several of the reviews and made the following changes with great results: reduce butter to 1/2 cup, add 2 tsp vanilla extract and 2 tsp instant espresso granules. Blend the eggs and sugar thoroughly before gradually adding the melted butter. The filling is really thick. Bake as directed. Excellent results! Tastes like a thick, chewy chocolaty chocolate chip cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anastasia

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Littleton, Colorado, USA
Living In: Moscow, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2010
One of our favorites here -- we make a few small changes. First I only use 1/2 cup butter, I also add a pinch of salt, a teeny bit of vanilla and I also add a small pinch of instant coffee. With the few additions it really brings out the flavor of the chocolate. We've also discovered we like it with a 1/2 and 1/2 mixture of semi-sweet chocolate chips and milk chocolate chips. Absolutely fantastic with some vanilla ice cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 99) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Dannon Oikos Key Lime Pie

Easy key lime pie with Greek-style yogurt bakes up fast!

Peanut Butter Cookie Pie

Allrecipes cook Kelly shares her Peanut Butter Cookie Pie recipe.

Fran’s Angel Food Pie

See the heart-warming story of an enduring Depression-era gift.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States