Toll House Pie I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2012
I have always loved this recipe, and it has been a family favorite. Last time we made it I substituted Reeces Minis for the chocolate chips. This gave the pie a completely different flavor that we also loved.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2012
Try softening the butter...don't melt it! And cut butter back to 1/2 cup or 3/4 cup...add a dash of salt and some vanilla. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2012
LOVE this pie! I usually omit the nuts or use very little. Also, I find that if you melt the butter and mix in while it's still hot, the pie is too runny. Either use softened butter or melt and let it cool before adding.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Shirley, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2012
I followed other reviewers advice, cut the butter in half, added vanilla and put in the oven to bake. I guess I was in a hurry and dealing with my toddler and pre-teen at bedtime, totally missed the part about putting it in a piecrust!! I know, how could have overlooked that, it is a "pie" recipe. I baked anyway, pulled it out at 45 min. and BAM! Chocolate awesomeness!! Can't wait till next time with the crust, but still very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2011
Oh my gosh! So delicious! Everyone in my family came back for seconds! Thank you so much for this recipe. It was so gooey and delicious :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2011
This was okay,not great easy to make and filled the sweet tooth
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rocky Point, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2011
Just pretty good, but the reviewers are right. 1/2 cup of butter is plenty, even with extra chocolate chips. Upon making this recipe for the second time, I've added the Neiman Marcus secret ingredient of espresso powder. I found 2 tsp was good for my taste. Excellent
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waynesville, Missouri, USA
Living In: Wichita, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2011
Way too much butter. My daughter should have read the reviews first.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2011
I made this a long while back and it was delish. I made it again several months ago and completely forgot to add the butter...it came out hard around the edges. Great with vanilla ice cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ajaderecio
Living In: Upland, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2011
Cut the butter in half and it is great!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 98) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Chocolate Pecan Pie

Put a sweet, chocolate twist on classic pecan pie with this recipe.

Chef John's Chocolate Pecan Pie

A few chocolate chips will take rich, gooey pecan pie to amazing new heights.

Dannon Oikos Key Lime Pie

Easy key lime pie with Greek-style yogurt bakes up fast!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States