Toll House Pie I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2014
I cannot understand why people are rating this recipe 4 and 5 stars when they've made multiple revisions (e. g., extra chips, less butter, add vanilla, add espresso powder, etc). If a recipe needs that many alterations, then it's not a 4 or 5 star. Unfortunately, I didn't read the reviews first and simply went by the nearly 5 star rating. This recipe as is was absolutely horrible. The amount of butter is unnecessary (yes, you can have too much butter), and it ruins the pie. I drained over 1/4 cup of butter off the top of the pie after baking for an hour. I thought it may have been from my home made crust, which has never failed me. But after reading the reviews for the pie I realized it was butter from the pie. Also, I let the pie cool for 15 minutes, and yet it was still a soggy, greasy mess, so I had to bake for an extra 15 minutes, which then burnt the crust. Upon serving it, the slices glistened with greasy butter - yuck! If my one star rating hasn't dissuaded your decision to make this pie, please cut back on the butter. And if you're looking for a greasy, overwhelming taste of butter with a hint of chocolate, this recipe as is is for you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2014
This was dry and just inedible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brenda

Cooking Level: Expert

Photo by nrgizrbune41
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2014
I've made this pie years ago & it is excellent BUT there is too much butter in this recipe. I used 3/4 cup of butter & it came out perfect. I too am giving 4 stars because the butter is too much as listed. I ended up serving this with Whip Cream as I was taking it to card group. Next time I want to serve sliced smaller, warm with vanilla ice cream & drizzle of fudge sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nrgizrbune41

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Western, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2014
this pie has an excellent taste!! I will however, decrease the amount of butter next time. I did encounter one huge problem and would like some suggestions. When I made the pie for the second time- and I used the same exact ingredients- the pie overflowed in the oven to a great extent! I don't know why that happened?? love the pie- but I may consider making it in a pyrex type of dish next time. any suggestions???
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2013
I have made this recipe many times over the years. I originally got it from a Nestle chocolate chips ad. I have always made it just as written with the full one cup of butter and have NEVER had any issues with having to pour off butter as others have stated. They must be doing something wrong. I use a kitchenaid mixer to mix all of the ingredients except I stir in the chocolate chips and nuts. It ends up as a nice fluffy thick batter (I love to lick the bowl). I pour it into a frozen 9" pie crust. True, it is gooey when warm. You cannot cut it as soon as it is taken from the oven. It must cool and set. I do like to eat it slightly warm when it is still a little soft and gooey. Once it is completely cool, it is a solid pie. The chocolate chips sink to the bottom so it is like two layers inside the pie. When cool, I always warm my piece for about 10 seconds in the microwave oven to make it a little gooey. It is heavenly. I took one to a holiday gathering with friends as a last-minute addition to the desserts and everyone loved it--more than my other dessert! It is fast and so easy to make and comes out perfectly every time if you follow the directions. And using a frozen pie crust really makes it super easy. I will say, when I looked this recipe up today, the Nestle website now shows only 3/4 c. butter on the ingredient list. But, I have always made it with one cup butter and I would be afraid to change it since I think it is perfection made that way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2013
This tasted DELICIOUS!! I did not have a problem with butter pooling. I did however, have the "too gooey" problem. It looked wonderful coming out of the oven but once cut, a pool of batter spilled out into the pie plate. Not sure if reducing the butter is the solution seeing how it tasted just right. I'll try it. If not, maybe I'll try softened instead of melted butter. I'll definitely be experimenting because this is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tvan

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2013
This recipe is not edible as it is. I don't understand why people are rating it based on their modifications. It would save you a lot of time to melt a stick of butter and add some chocolate chips, because that is exactly what this recipe tastes like. I was so embarrassed to serve this to my family even after I drained off the butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2013
I also tweak this recipe. 1/2 cup butter & only soft, not melted. I also serve it completely cool & it's delicious & firm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2013
We Loved this pie I too would give it five stars only because I followed the advice of others I used 1/2 cup butter & 1/4 cup oats 1tsp vanilla and salt it was sooooooo good my family lived it will be sure to make it again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fran

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Warwick, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Tiverton, Rhode Island, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2013
I just tried this recipe. Followed some of the reviewers suggestions and used 1/2 cup of butter, a splash of vanilla, and a sprinkle of salt. It came out good but not as good as I imagined it to be. It was a bit dry, though I did follow the baking temperature and time. Perhaps it's because I only used 1/2 cup of butter. I ate this with ice cream. Overall a very quick recipe if you are craving a chocolate walnut pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 99) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Chocolate Pecan Pie

Put a sweet, chocolate twist on classic pecan pie with this recipe.

Chef John's Chocolate Pecan Pie

A few chocolate chips will take rich, gooey pecan pie to amazing new heights.

Dannon Oikos Key Lime Pie

Easy key lime pie with Greek-style yogurt bakes up fast!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States