Toll House Pie I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: May 13, 2006
Unbelievable! I have been looking for this recipe! I reduced the butter as other readers did... this was gone in a flash from our house/1
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2006
Following the recipe as written, I had to drain off a good amount of butter when I took the pie out of the oven. On the second try, I cut the butter to 3/4 c., added a dash of salt and a splash of vanilla. Excellent! and the texture is *much* better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ArmyMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2006
I love this recipe. It is ooey, gooey, buttery, chocolatey confection. It is easy to whip up fast and makes a great alternative to a cake. I make it for company and everyone loves it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2005
This was a gooey, rich dessert. Like everyone else, we reduced the butter to 1/2 cup. We also substituted pecans for the walnuts. My husband wanted to dive into it immediately, but it took a while to set up. Great topped with vanilla ice cream or with a big glass of milk!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2005
If you like lots of nuts and soft cookies then you should enjoy this. I personally would prefer to make bar chocolate chip cookies and nuts in a 9X13 pan. It was just a little too gooey for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HESANTONE

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Northville, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2005
If you like ooey gooey cookie pies that take you back in time, this is it! Some people say it's too much better, it was perfect for me, very buttery and gooey, let's just say there's only 2 small pieces left and I baked it 2 hours ago! EASY, YUMMY, definately a keeper!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2005
Oh, this pie is sooooo good! Like the others, I reduced the butter to 1 stick. I also used milk chocolate chips. Otherwise, I didn't change anything else. It tasted just like the Toll House pie I've had in restaurants. It tastes best served warm with a scoop of vanilla ice cream or some whipped cream. Mmmmm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2005
Delicous, However... Too much better. It was just dripping everywhere. Be sure to put foil under the pie as it will also over flow. Mine took 10 minutes extra to firm and even then it was soupy. Cooling did help. I think with a few modifications, this could be 5+ star recipe. Second time around made it with 1 stick butter and added 1 tsp. Vanilla. now a 5 star. serve warm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2004
I changed it to 1/2 cup butter. This mixture was perfect for one 9 inch pie shell. It wasn't to gooey or pudding like. it came out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2004
I was so excited about this recipe. Luckily I tried it out before taking to the family Thanksgiving dinner. It did not turn out as I expected. The flavor was fine (my fiancé loved it) but it had a strange gooey texture. I may try it again with a few alterations. My suggestion--have a back up plan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 99) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Peanut Butter Cookie Pie

Allrecipes cook Kelly shares her Peanut Butter Cookie Pie recipe.

Fran’s Angel Food Pie

See the heart-warming story of an enduring Depression-era gift.

Dannon Oikos Key Lime Pie

Easy key lime pie with Greek-style yogurt bakes up fast!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States