Toll House Pie I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2011
Cut the butter in half and it is great!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2011
I have been making this for years. Use toasted pecans and a Keebler shortbread or grahm cracker crust and you will love. Also make sure you let your butter cool, it changes the whole consistancy of the pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2011
Fantastic! I made this for Thanksgiving, and everyone agreed - skip the pumpkin pie next year!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2011
Too buttery? Is there any such thing??? I usually omit the nuts, and it's just as good. Mmmmmm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2011
Delish! I LOVE this pie! I did half the butter as a lot of other reviewers suggested This pie is delicious made with the walnuts! I have also subsituted pecans or toffee bits instead and both yielded amazing results as well so feel free to use what you have on hand!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
I made this for our New Year's day celebration dinner and everyone loved it! The only changes I made were to add 1 tsp pure vanilla extract, a shake of sea salt, and I used a little over a half a bag of the mini semi-sweet morsels instead of the regular sized chips, and pecans instead of walnuts. I used the smaller chocolate morsels to avoid having the chips all settle down to the bottom of the pie during baking as others have complained about. That trick really worked! I also cooked it for 1 hour and 15 minutes to avoid it being underdone (too gooey) as some cooks have mentioned. I tried to cut the butter down to 1/2 cup (which was softened, not melted), but when mixing in the chocolate chips and chopped pecans, I could tell the batter was a little too tight so I added in an extra half a stick (1/4 cup) of softened butter at that point. The texture was great, and the pie crust was so deliciously buttery. I originally thought a cookie crust would have been better than a traditional crust, but it really complimented the cookie filling beautifully. We served it with Cool Whip topping, which was wonderful, but vanilla ice cream would have been great too! I remember getting the recipe for this off the back of the Nestle Chocolate Chips bag and making it for my 18th birthday "cake" years and years ago. I don't know why I waited so long to make it again. I'm sure I will be making it often since I've rediscovered this fantastic pie after all these years. Thanks for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2010
So easy! So delicious! Per others' suggestions, I reduced butter to 3/4 cup, added 1 tsp. vanilla and a dash of salt. I will definitely be making this again...it got rave reviews at Christmas dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2010
Thanks for the tip to cut down the butter. I cut it down by 1/4 and it was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2010
I've baked this pie several times before using the recipe as written. I read several of the reviews and made the following changes with great results: reduce butter to 1/2 cup, add 2 tsp vanilla extract and 2 tsp instant espresso granules. Blend the eggs and sugar thoroughly before gradually adding the melted butter. The filling is really thick. Bake as directed. Excellent results! Tastes like a thick, chewy chocolaty chocolate chip cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anastasia

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Littleton, Colorado, USA
Living In: Moscow, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2010
One of our favorites here -- we make a few small changes. First I only use 1/2 cup butter, I also add a pinch of salt, a teeny bit of vanilla and I also add a small pinch of instant coffee. With the few additions it really brings out the flavor of the chocolate. We've also discovered we like it with a 1/2 and 1/2 mixture of semi-sweet chocolate chips and milk chocolate chips. Absolutely fantastic with some vanilla ice cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 99) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Peanut Butter Cookie Pie

Allrecipes cook Kelly shares her Peanut Butter Cookie Pie recipe.

Fran’s Angel Food Pie

See the heart-warming story of an enduring Depression-era gift.

Dannon Oikos Key Lime Pie

Easy key lime pie with Greek-style yogurt bakes up fast!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States