Toll House Pie I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2013
I just tried this recipe. Followed some of the reviewers suggestions and used 1/2 cup of butter, a splash of vanilla, and a sprinkle of salt. It came out good but not as good as I imagined it to be. It was a bit dry, though I did follow the baking temperature and time. Perhaps it's because I only used 1/2 cup of butter. I ate this with ice cream. Overall a very quick recipe if you are craving a chocolate walnut pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2013
I have loved this recipe for years! It is never quite cooked, but still delicious. So today for the first time I covered it in foil for the first 30 minutes, uncovered it for the last 30 minutes. Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2012
I have always loved this recipe, and it has been a family favorite. Last time we made it I substituted Reeces Minis for the chocolate chips. This gave the pie a completely different flavor that we also loved.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2012
Try softening the butter...don't melt it! And cut butter back to 1/2 cup or 3/4 cup...add a dash of salt and some vanilla. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2012
LOVE this pie! I usually omit the nuts or use very little. Also, I find that if you melt the butter and mix in while it's still hot, the pie is too runny. Either use softened butter or melt and let it cool before adding.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Shirley, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2012
I followed other reviewers advice, cut the butter in half, added vanilla and put in the oven to bake. I guess I was in a hurry and dealing with my toddler and pre-teen at bedtime, totally missed the part about putting it in a piecrust!! I know, how could have overlooked that, it is a "pie" recipe. I baked anyway, pulled it out at 45 min. and BAM! Chocolate awesomeness!! Can't wait till next time with the crust, but still very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2011
Oh my gosh! So delicious! Everyone in my family came back for seconds! Thank you so much for this recipe. It was so gooey and delicious :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2011
This was okay,not great easy to make and filled the sweet tooth
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rocky Point, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2011
Just pretty good, but the reviewers are right. 1/2 cup of butter is plenty, even with extra chocolate chips. Upon making this recipe for the second time, I've added the Neiman Marcus secret ingredient of espresso powder. I found 2 tsp was good for my taste. Excellent
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waynesville, Missouri, USA
Living In: Wichita, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2011
Way too much butter. My daughter should have read the reviews first.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 100) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Peanut Butter Cookie Pie

Allrecipes cook Kelly shares her Peanut Butter Cookie Pie recipe.

Fran’s Angel Food Pie

See the heart-warming story of an enduring Depression-era gift.

Dannon Oikos Key Lime Pie

Easy key lime pie with Greek-style yogurt bakes up fast!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States