Toll House Crumbcake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2010
I left out 1 whole cup of chocolate chips & it was still waaaaaaay too chocolatey! VERY rich & almost too sweet. I cut all of the pieces in 1/2 & STILL couldn't even finish one! It's not a horrible dessert, just too much chocolate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2010
I doubled everything in the topping mixture but the chips (used minis). I only had granulated light brown sugar on hand and used that in the topping, it melted and gave the topping a delightful little crunch on top. I don't think I would bother even trying the brown sugar this was so good. Delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by honnnie81

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wilmington, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2009
GREAT CAKE!! I loved it! So easy to make, delicious, rave reviews for it too. I will say that the 2 cups of chocolate chips for the topping is too much. I will double the rest of the topping ingredients next time and throw in a good handful of chocolate chips for the topping-maybe about 1/2 cup or so. The topping is awesome, it does not come out like a streusel crumb topping, it actually bakes into the top of the cake giving the top a sweet, crisp exterior and gives it that chocolate chip cookie flavor. Awesome! UPDATE: I have made this again and doubled the topping as I mentioned above . . . and have to say that I do not recommend doubling it-it was way too much that way-too sweet! The original amount is perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fresno, California, USA
Living In: Clovis, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2009
this was good, didn't need to cook as long as stated maybe 30-35 minutes, the crumb topping didn't even matter in my opinion maybe i should've doubled it but it just bakes right into it and you don't even notice it i think it should be added later not as soon as you put it in the oven, it is pretty good but definitely only need about 1/2 cup in topping or none at all, and 1 cup in cake mix
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lyss8928

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Huntingdon, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Irwin, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2009
I don't usually rate recipes, but this one is amazing, made just as stated and turned out moist and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JWHITESIDES

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2009
Really good and even better the next day. The dough is soooo good too -- tastes somewhere in the middle of cake mix and cookie dough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Naples, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by luvmykids
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2009
Mmmmmm...this smells so good while it is baking! Everyone made their way to the kitchen during baking time to ask what the yummy smell was! I did not wait for it to cool before cutting...I just couldn't do it. It's delicious warm with a sprinkling of powdered sugar. Next time I'll do like others and double the topping...minus the nuts. I left those out. Really good! Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by luvmykids

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2009
Really, really good and super easy!! I've made this recipe several times and it is one of those recipes that you keep coming back to.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Verena

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2008
This is a great recipe. I have made it three times since October and everyone loves it. The first time I followed the recipe exactly. The second time I replaced the sour cream and half the butter(not in the crumb topping) with applesauce and used whole wheat flour. I also doubled the crumb topping which really makes the cake delicious. The small adjustments were to help me feel better about eating 2/3rds of it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2008
This is an awesome recipe! I took some earlier advise and doubled the topping but left the chocolate chips at 2 cups. I think it cuts back on the chocolate just enough. Overall very easy to make and yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenny Pieske

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Belfast, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Fondant

Give your cakes a sleek, professional look with fondant.

How to Decorate Easter Cakes

Watch three fun ways to decorate an Easter cake.

Zebra Cake

See how ingenious cooks adapted to food rationing during World War II.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States