Tofu Vindaloo Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by YoAdrian
Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2011
Great meal! I made it as directed, except that I used chicken broth in place of the vegetable broth. The recipe was easy and delicious, and spicy. The curry powder can be garam masala or regular curry powder. Definitely add some salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2011
You may want to add a bit more curry than what's recommend, but overall a wonderful dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2011
Very good! I added a chopped Portuguese hot cherry pepper for heat, as my vindaloo curry powder is more aromatic than spicy, a couple cloves of garlic, some cilantro and I omitted the mushrooms. Very tasty and filling!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine M

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hopedale, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Holden, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2011
This turned out really well. I did not have vindaloo curry so just used regular. It was not really spicy. I also threw in some cashews with it. Great dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2011
Wonderful. Didn't have vindaloo curry powder so I added 1 T curry powder, 2 tsp. cumin, 1/2 tsp. red pepper flakes, 1 tsp tumeric and coriander. Very tasty and will serve 8 easily!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
65 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nancy Williamson Farrell
Home Town: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2011
I love Indian food and this was so simple to do at home love the recipe, but my trick when cooking with tofu is to use a tofu press or pressure to get the moisture out first and it has way more flavor... I love it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2011
I made this exactly as the recipe states, except I used regular curry powder, and it was a huge hit. Lots of yummy leftovers. Will definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pacislander81

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Camarillo, California, USA
Living In: Henderson, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2011
I used a head of cauliflower, entire can of tomato paste along with regular curry powder (more than recommended), added some ginger powder and cashews. Easy and flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2011
Oh my gosh! This was so good. I never thought that I could make something that tasted like this. Very easy too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2011
This was very easy to make. I used regular curry powder and I didn't have ginger root so I used ginger powder. I also didnt have veg. broth so I used chicken broth. Instead of tomato paste I used tomato sauce because it was all I had. I omitted the mushrooms. My husband loved it because we are normally meat eaters but are trying to eat healthier and this was perfect !! It was very filling and I cant wait to share the recipe with the rest of my family!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 41) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey Day Recipes
Top Turkey Day Recipes

So many classic recipes to please your pilgrims.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Lamb Shank Vindaloo

See how to make a spicy, Indian-style curried lamb stew.

Tofu Turkey I

See how to make a stuffed and basted vegan Thanksgiving "turkey."

How to Cook with Tofu

See all you can do with this healthy, power-packed protein.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States