Tofu Vindaloo Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2013
All I have to say is AMAZING! This dish was so flavorful, filling yet light. I'M a vegetarian and it's challenging to find great dishes that offer all of those elements. When we journey to India within the next year I'll know how to cook traditional Indian dishes that are healthy. Thanks for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA
Living In: Big Bear Lake, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2013
This was delicious! Fresh ginger root was key for me. Loved the gravy! I used House Foods Tofu Cutlet. No draining/firming up needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2013
Oh wow, thank you sidnam!!! I was so excited when I saw this recipe and the positive reviews! My daughter and I love Indian food and though I've tried many times to make something delicious at home (with an Indian flavor) I have been seriously unable!!! YOUR RECIPE IS TOTAL SUCCESS!!! I did sautee my mushrooms with the veggies in the beginning and I only used one good sized onion. I also used 6 cloves of garlic as we love, love, love garlic and it's so good for you! And I had to use lite coconut milk cuz...well, healthy eating dictates it!!! Otherwise I followed the recipe to a T!!! I will say that I did end up buying an American-looking curry powder. I believe that success and failure will depend largely on that one ingredient. Some have mentioned that it's bland. I agree if you mean non-spicy-hot! But for me and my simple tastebuds it was just perfect. I figured my hubby who likes spicy food can just add a squirt of sriracha and call it a day! But otherwise this is seriously flavorful goodness! My daughter is at college right now but I can't wait for her to come home so I can show off my new skills...all thanks to sidnam!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2013
Very good and easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2013
Easy to make. My husband really enjoyed it. My 3 yr old complained a bit about the tofu and chickpeas as it was usual to him but he still ate it all when he realized he could make a taco with naan bread. I used low fat coconut milk, no onions as my hubby does not like them and a mixture of curry powder, cumin, etc as previously recommended by a reviewer (chili peppers instead of red pepper flakes) as I could not find the curry vindaloo powder. It was not really spicy, there was some heat to it but as someone who does not like really spicy foods I would say this was a mild heat. I forgot to add salt and it was a little bland but still good but after I added salt to my own plate it just seemed to bring out all the flavors and it tasted much better. My hubby did not salt his and still had a second serving of it. It was a delicious dinner I will be sure to make it again for vegetarian night!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edmundston, New Brunswick, Canada
Living In: Regina, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2013
Really liked this recipe even though I changed a bit based on reviews from others. First, I cut up the tofu and pan-fried it before adding it to the mix (I like when the edges are lightly browned). I used a whole small can of tomato paste and a quart of Veg stock to make a larger batch and to create a soup/stew. I used a whole head of cauliflower and some extra carrots. Loved the recipe. It was flavorful and easy to make. The prep was a little time-consuming but worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2012
Love it, love it, love it. We have recently started a vegetarian life style , and with recipes like this, it will be much easier to stay on the path. Yummmmmmmmmm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ally T

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newport, Monmouthshire, Wales, U.K.
Living In: Stittsville, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2012
This was my first time making this recipe. I followed it to a T, however to me it was a bit bland. The ginger taste/smell is VERY strong. I love Indian food and was a bit disappointed at how this recipe turned out. Any suggestions?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JanelleC

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2012
Easy and flavorful! Even my non-vegetarian family members love this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2012
quite tasty! i made a couple of changes; i added garlic, salt and a serrano pepper. i also didn't have vindaloo powder, so i used regular curry powder. i also salted the veggies a little while they were cooking to help them reduce a little. i have never cooked with tofu before, though i am a huge fan. just be careful to FOLD (as the recipe says) and not stir, otherwise you will break up the chunks of tofu. anyway, this one is going in the recipe box!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Lamb Shank Vindaloo

See how to make a spicy, Indian-style curried lamb stew.

Tofu Turkey I

See how to make a stuffed and basted vegan Thanksgiving "turkey."

How to Cook with Tofu

See all you can do with this healthy, power-packed protein.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States