Tofu Vindaloo Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2014
Between the excessive tomato paste and the coconut milk, it just tasted like a can of Campbell's tomato soup, but hot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ILovePotatoes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2014
i really liked this recipe!! i used regular curry powder. i love all the different ingredients. the recipes i've used before usually just have maybe 3 vegetables and tofu. i used the full amount of oil but you could easily scale this back to a tbsp. NOTE: i made this a second time using light coconut milk and a different curry powder. not good. make sure you use regular coconut milk and get a good curry powder (ex. sharwood's) and don't use a regular grocery store one (ex. no name brand superstore, club house).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by skoj
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2014
Loved it! I had all the ingredients at homes so it was a quick meal for me. Even though I am not vegetarian, I often eat veggie dishes. Overall I had my taste buds had fun with this dish!! Oh and I used broccoli instead of cauliflower.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2014
Great recipe. Replaced the tofu with chicken and added three jalapeño peppers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2013
I found this to be quite good. A few said it was bland, which I found to be true UNTIL I added the salt, as the recipe says. I only had regular curry and added turmeric. The only other alteration I made was to the tofu. I don't like tofu's consistency, so I coated it in whole wheat flour and baked it until crisp on the outside. I wish rice had been in the ingredients. I didn't note that until it was too late. If the option were available, I would have given this a 4 1/2 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2013
I thought it sounded a little one-dimensional on the spices. So I added 2 tsp cumin, 1 tsp smoked paprika, 4 cloves garlic, 1 tsp salt, 1/2 tsp pepper, 2 tsp oregano, and used regular curry powder since that's what I had. It came out really good! I will definitely be making this again, as this is the only tofu recipe I've found that I like so far.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2013
Great basic recipe. I used sweet potatoes instead of cauliflower and they were great. I also added lots of chopped fresh cilantro, because we love the taste. I substituted "Kitchen King" spice mix (a lady at the Indian grocery told me about it) for the vindaloo powder because my husband likes spicy but not hot. It was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2013
Wow...really great recipe! Two things though....cooking times listed are too short. "Cook until vegetable have softened, about 5 min." Really it's more like 10 - 15 min. "Simmer until vegetables are tender...15 min " Really more like 45 - 60 min. If you are hesitant about the tofu like I was, suggest cutting the extra-firm tofu into smaller cubes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2013
All I have to say is AMAZING! This dish was so flavorful, filling yet light. I'M a vegetarian and it's challenging to find great dishes that offer all of those elements. When we journey to India within the next year I'll know how to cook traditional Indian dishes that are healthy. Thanks for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA
Living In: Big Bear Lake, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2013
This was delicious! Fresh ginger root was key for me. Loved the gravy! I used House Foods Tofu Cutlet. No draining/firming up needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Lamb Shank Vindaloo

See how to make a spicy, Indian-style curried lamb stew.

Tofu Turkey I

See how to make a stuffed and basted vegan Thanksgiving "turkey."

How to Cook with Tofu

See all you can do with this healthy, power-packed protein.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States