Tofu Turkey II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2005
I've made this recipe for my boyfriend last Christmas, as well as his family - 3 out of which are vegetarian. The recipe turned out great and they all enjoyed it. As a meat-eater myself, I was slightly hesitant but it was pretty good. Definitely a recipe I would recommend if you want to make that extra effort for your vegetarian friends and/or family. Two suggestions: 1) Use extra firm tofu - a little harder to work with, but doesn't crack as much; and, 2) I simply use turkey Stove-Top stuffing, eliminating Step #2 (just prepare as it says on the box) - easier and tastes great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2005
Glaze was bland, tofu even more bland. Glaze started to burn very quickly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julia

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2004
I didn't know it was possible to kill a bird made of tofu, but I did. Mine too, went flat in the oven. I froze the tofu over night, to make it firmer as well. I gave 2 stars because the glaze was good. I'll use it for something else..... maybe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MENMYTEDDY13

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2004
The amount of water didn't seem to be enough for the dry stuffing. Next time I'll use boxed stuffing mix instead. The glaze and the tofu crust turned out really really yummy though. I even used the same glaze for chicken marinate. Will definitely make it again for my veggie friends and family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kowloon City, Kowloon Peninsula, Hong Kong
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2004
The recipe worked out well but I will use a different glaze next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Livingston, Montana, USA
Living In: Goldendale, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2004
Made this for my sis and a couple of friends who are vegetarian and they were very happy with it. Will definitely keep on my menu for future thanksgivings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Valerie Anna

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2003
this recipe is fantastic! i have been afraid to try a tofu "turkey" recipe, but i love this one! i didn't have marjoram or savory, so i used some sage and poultry seasoning instead. also, you have to watch *carefully* when broiling. (i burned mine just a bit.) i'm going to make this again just for fun!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2003
This is so easy to make, especially for someone who has never worked with tofu before. Everyone at our buffet praised it, especially the meat eaters who didn't realize it was tofu but thought it was turkey breast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2003
I was so disappointed :-( I followed the directions for the turkey part and used my own stuffing recipe. I did add poultry seasoning, sage, garlic powder, salt, and pepper before forming the tofu and it tasted ok. The problem came when I inverted it onto the baking sheet after it sat and drained for the 2 hrs. It absolutly did not hold its shape and spread out, kind of became a tofu pancake. I went ahead and baked it per the recipe. Finally when it was finished in the oven it had the texture and consinsity of a wet sponge and honestly tasted way too bland. It never left the kitchen. I may try again and let the tofu drain more, might give it another whirl for Christmas or I may just order a comercial one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Linton, Indiana, USA
Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2003
It was dry, no flavor and I had to use my ingenuity and redo this entire recipe. I started by marinating the tofu overnight and adding many spices, added fresh parlsey to everything,(rubbed sage, powedered sage, garlic & onion powder, oregano, chives, marjoram, savory, salt and pepper and made a moist stuffing in accordance with the quantities you are asked to use in the recipe label and increased the margarine and liquid content by more than double in accordance; adding onions, celery and mushroom to stuffing and spices also. Made a Vegan Gravy adding fresh parsley and all of the above spices and was added to stuffing and used as a sauce over the tofurkey. It was a hit for 54 employees - some who have never tasted Tofu before.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fairview, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Tofu Turkey I

See how to make a stuffed and basted vegan Thanksgiving "turkey."

Easy Turkey Tetrazzini

This simple dish features leftover turkey in a creamy noodle casserole.

Turkey Noodle Casserole

See how to make this classic casserole starring leftover Thanksgiving turkey.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States