Tofu Turkey II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2013
I made this for our family Thanksgiving. We were all very surprised that it tasted so good. This will definitely become a Thanksgiving tradition in our house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2010
Tried this for the first time today just to see what it would be like. However when it cooked the tofu part just didn't seem as firm or "meaty" as I thought it would be. It came out similar to firm scrambled eggs. Did I do something wrong? Or is this the way its supposed to be? I would love for it to be more meatier. I'm thinking if I freeze the tofu first. Also when I had the tofu mixture in the strainer with the paper towels, no liquid came from it at all. Would love to get some feedback & thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2009
Tastes like egg!!!!! I am a new vegetarian, and wanted to make something for the holidays. I chose this tofu "turkey" b/c it did not call for soy sauce as most recipes do. What a disappointment. It tasted like an egg. Maybe I'll make it when I feel like having a "quiche".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2009
I love this recipe! I made it for the non-meat eaters in my family but as it turns out even the meat eaters enjoyed it. The only thing I would suggest is to not use as much dry stuffing. It made way to much. I was a little scared that it would not taste good because it had some strange ingerdients for the glaze but it was amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by libbyryankern
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2009
Fabulous! Loved this! Great flavor, and I am a bit of a flavor snob. I took one reviewer's suggestion and skipped Step 2, and just used a store bought stuffing. I used Strawberry All-Fruit rather than orange jam fro the glaze and it was great. My only problem was that it cracked when I inverted it onto the baking sheet. I tried to mend the crack, and it only made it worse. I was thinking it was "mendable" like dough, but it really isn't. Once it's cracked, it's cracked. But it was still great and I will definitely make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2009
BEST ever alternative to a dead bird for Thanksgiving...THANK YOU for sharing! We use an apple maple glaze instead of the barbeque sauce... it is EXCELLENT!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2009
The flavor was very good. Next time I would drain the tofu for a while & try to squeeze out some of the liquid. It was very light, fluffy & a little too wet, almost like a ricotta cheese filling for lasagna. I found it difficult to prepare as a loaf and would probably just make a casserole with the stuffing on the bottom & tofu mixture on top. Delicious flavor though, I will make again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Menifee, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2008
I made similar recipe last year but formed "turkey" legs and wings using extra tofu and a form for a tofurukey mold. I also made dressing from day-old bread and put it in the cavity of the tofurkey, and a little coming out of the butt-end, like you'd see in a real turkey. That end crisped-up very nicely in the oven. I set it on a bed of kale with orange twists and craberries surrounding. Served with a vegan gravy with sauted button mushrooms. This is very good with cranberry sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan Parran

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: College Park, Maryland, USA
Living In: Amherst, New Hampshire, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2008
This is a really easy and great recipe. I read some of the reviews before making this for my son who is vegan. BEWARE to those who are planning on using boxed stuffing mixes as recommended by some reviews. Lots of them have added dried chicken or turkey for flavoring and most of them contain gelatin. Check box ingredients first if staying vegan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Can_It_Rachael

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rhinelander, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2007
This makes a nice substitute for turkey as long as you don't really expect it to taste like turkey. Of course there are tastier vegetarian main dishes out there but this one looks more like turkey and goes well with the traditional fixings (mashed potatoes, gravy, cranberry sauce, etc). I may make it again for Thanksgiving but probably not on any other occasion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lahore, Punjab, Pakistan
Living In: Paris, Île-De-France, France

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Tofu Turkey I

See how to make a stuffed and basted vegan Thanksgiving "turkey."

Easy Turkey Tetrazzini

This simple dish features leftover turkey in a creamy noodle casserole.

Turkey Noodle Casserole

See how to make this classic casserole starring leftover Thanksgiving turkey.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States