Tofu Turkey I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Can Can
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2005
I was very impressed with the way this turned out. I served it for Thanksgiving to 9 meat eaters and EVERYONE said it tasted like turkey! I couldn't believe it. I have been vegetarian for 10 years, so tasting like turkey wasn't really the goal. I did make some changes: after reading the suggestions in this section, I first boiled the tofu in some vegetarian chicken flavored stock, then processed it in a blender, then pressed it with the weight overnight. I also substituted Bragg's Liquid Aminnos for Tamari and regular boxed stuffing mix for the stuffing; I also left out the rosemary as I didn't have any. I cooked the tofu turkey WITH the foil for about 3 hours, reappling the glaze every 30 minutes or so. I also cooked it on parchment paper instead of greasing the pan, so it didn't burn. It was really good: it looked and tasted like turkey! I also recommend the vegetarian gravy to serve with this (or mashed potatoes!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
136 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Can Can

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2001
I read the reviews of this recipe and thought, ok, this sounds good. I took the time to fix this for Thanksgiving and I don't plan on making it again. First of all, the amount of Tamari used in this recipe makes the stuffing too salty. I even reduced the amount and added water to cut it down a bit. Furthermore, the recipe calls for table salt? I had enough sense not to add any. Second, the cooking time is way too long. 2 hours at 400°F? Come on, get real. After only one hour, the sugars in the marinade (from the OJ) started to burn. Third, despite pressing the tofu with 35 lbs of weight overnight, the texture was still spongy. Finally, the tofu, naturally bland, never picked up any flavors from the stuffing and marinade. Bland AND spongy?!? My plan is to give a shot at a $12 Tofurky (the real deal) and see if it is better. It would certainly be a whole lot cheaper and easier to fix. Tofurky's giblet gravy is good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
86 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2007
The main thing here is- you need to have plenty of prep time. I personally have had fabulous results everytime I have made a Tofu Turkey for my daughter and myself. First off- I press the tofu overnight the night before Thanksgiving- usually for at least 12 hours so it really firms up. Then I hollow it out and add the stuffing (I use a really good natural stuffing that Whole Foods sells and add celery and other good stuff but do not ever add extra salt- there is plenty of that in the recipe as is. Once stuffed I then refrigerate it again for a few hours so it firms nicely and can be turned out into the cooking vessel. It's important to keep it covered with foil (hate using aluminum foil but what else can ya use?) and keep marinating it (I add apricot jam to the marinade and it really makes a lovely color and taste) often but COOK at low heat- I do it at 300 for about 2 hours so it won't burn. Serve with organic cranberry sauce and natural vegan gravy- mashed organic russett potatoes and organic yams...YUMMO!! I also make a vegan pumpkin pie made with silken tofu- recipe easy to find online. Happy Thanskgiving!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
68 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jnoller

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2002
I made this for Thanksgiving and although it was a lot of work, it tasted soooo good! I definitely recommend starting early crumbling the tofu AND pulsing it in the food processor, until really smooth, then draining it. Works much, much better! My whole family tried it and couldn't believe how good it was. Yes! This is a thanksgiving staple!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHOPPNBROCCOLI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2002
i write a mixed review, the dish takes a while but is easy (a tad bit expensive). I didn't use her stuffing recipe but did follow the tofu/body part. don't hollow the tofu out, create the interior cavity as the refrigerated tofu is being pressed by placing a round bottomed bowl in the tofu as a form. The tofu also needs a better marinade recipe it was pretty wimpy (and salty). I also tried to impregnate the tofu w/herbs & soaked it for a long long time and that seemed to work better. good luck.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2006
I really loved this, but I had to tweak it quite a bit to get it how I liked it. I do not like Celery so I used extra garlic. I don't use miso, so I used sweet and sour sauce and teriayki sauce. I did not use orange juice or zest. I used Honey dijon. I used wine and red wine vinegar. It is delicious and much better than anything I have had as a vegetarian. My Dad loves it and he is 83 years old! I steeped the tofu in sesame and soy sauce then put it in the colander. You can't cook it as long as it says, it burns. So watch it carefully. It really is the best and you should try it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Arlington, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2001
This dish is terrific. This is the 3rd (or 4th) year that I have made this dish for my family. There are a few things that I have learned that have helped me out. 1) For time I use a prepared stuffing. Since this is usually salty, I try to minimize excess salt in other places. 2)I use a pizza pan, it looks like a big mound, but since I am usually cooking for 8-10 the shape doesn not matter. You have to take it easy on the marinade, one time it was a little to salty, taste first. My family loves this dish. My Grandmother MADE me bring her a piece and she had two "real" turkeys at her house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SKB20

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2001
This recipe is AWESOME!Very easy, especially after the first time. The meat eaters at thanksgiving ALWAYS eat all our tofu turkey! I make two now. My children who are vegans love it too. And when it comes just out of the oven look out! :-) I have been making it now for three years and am always asked by the meat eaters if I'm bringing the tofu turkey. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2005
This is very good. The first time I made it the bottom cooked too much and couldn't be eaten. I lowered the temperature to 350 the first hour and 375 the second. I think 375 for both hours would be fine. It has very good flavor. It makes extra dressing which I circle around the "bird" and it makes a good presentation. Be sure to cover the "bird" with foil for the second hour too. It has great taste and isn't hard to put together. Add a little cranberry sauce and veges and you're set. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2004
I did not care for this recipe. The tofu did not stick together after draining overnight and the end result didn't look good at all. However, the stuffing is excellent. Follow the recipe, put the stuffing in a pan and bake. Yum!! I made the stuffing for my family and everyone loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *cherry*

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Tofu Turkey I

See how to make a stuffed and basted vegan Thanksgiving "turkey."

Easy Turkey Tetrazzini

This simple dish features leftover turkey in a creamy noodle casserole.

How to Cook with Tofu

See all you can do with this healthy, power-packed protein.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States