Tofu Turkey I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2010
I have made this recipe for years -got it from Peta magazine. I use only tamari and sesame oil for the basting sauce, and mix the herbs in with the tofu before allowing it to drain in fridge overnight. I am always asked to bring this to Thanksgiving- at first because we were the only vegetarians in the family and no one wanted to cook for us - now there are more vegetarians and a vegan in the family (I make mine vegan so anyone can eat it.)Baking it does make the house smokey, but is worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sheffield, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by natalie
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2010
I'll be making this for Thanksgiving from now on! Even meat eaters liked this one. To give the tofu more flavor, I mixed in some soy sauce & seasoning into the crumbled mix before pressing. I left the tofu in the colander overnight (at least 12 hours) and when I baked it, I used the temperature suggestions that DABDAB made. I didn't have miso paste & tried some substitutes, but didn't like the flavor. I had to tweak quite a bit to make it taste right... I will make sure I find paste next time. Left-overs made nice sandwiches as well :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by natalie
Living In: Long Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2010
I just mixed it altogether. The "stuffing" of it didn't work for me the first time so the 2nd time I mixed it altogether and liked it better. Easier, didn't change the taste which is good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2010
I did not care for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2009
This was ok tasting, but did not resemble turkey. If you changed the seasonings it would work, but as is it tasted like Japanese food (not surprising with the tamari and miso).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brampton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2009
This was pretty good, very easy to make and a wonderful dish to make if you have a vegan/vegetarian coming for the holiday dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Debbie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stanley, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Appleton, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2008
I loved this recipe and even some meat eaters liked it! I did tweak it a little bit only because I didn't have some ingredients (miso paste or orange zest and used soy sauce instead of tamari). I also pressed my tofu for 36 hours. One ingredient I added to the baste was a tsp of liquid smoke. I will make this every year, this was my first vegetarian thanksgiving! From reading the other reviews i cooked it for 1 hour at 350 with foil then 1.5hrs at 375 without foil. I was even able to mold it into a turkey with drumsticks on the side!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2008
I made a reduced-size recipe of this as a trial run before Thanksgiving for my vegetarian daughter. I absolutely loved it, and I didn't think it was terribly difficult. Because I only used 1.5 pkgs of tofu, I couldn't really shape it into a turkey, so instead I sprayed a sheet of foil with PAM and spread the drained tofu on top, then covered with stuffing and rolled up to encase the stuffing with tofu. I baked the roll in the foil with all of the sauce for the full time; I didn't brush it later. I think I'll wrap it in foil the next time, too, to keep it moist and to crisp the outside. One thing I'll change - crumble the tofu finer, or even process some in the food processer to get a firmer more compressed "turkey" layer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toledo, Ohio, USA
Living In: Rochester, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2008
WOW too cool and yummy!! My only problem that I had with the recipe is that since I made this for only my husband and myself I halved the recipe....now if you have a deep narrow collander for the tofu it would be fine but I had a difficult time "stuffing" "the turkey" since it was not deep enough... but my husband was pleasantly surprised by the taste as was I!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cabo San Lucas, Baja California Sur, Mexico

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2008
From working with tofu over the years, be aware that different brands perform differently in cooking. You kind of need to get to know your tofu when it comes to texture, unless you don't mind soft and squishy as a possible outcome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Tofu Turkey I

See how to make a stuffed and basted vegan Thanksgiving "turkey."

Easy Turkey Tetrazzini

This simple dish features leftover turkey in a creamy noodle casserole.

How to Cook with Tofu

See all you can do with this healthy, power-packed protein.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States