Tofu Turkey I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2013
This recipe is terrific. Even my non-vegetarian family enjoyed it. One thing though, the instructions do not call for blending the tofu but I learned that is better if we blend the tofu rather than just crumbling it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Studio City, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2012
I was a little disappointed with my results. I made this for thanksgiving and although my family liked it, i didnt. It didnt taste bad and the presentation was really good it actually looked liked turkey. I guess the positive reviews just made me really excited.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2011
I followed this recipe for Christmas dinner. I did boil the tofu in vegatarian broth and run it through a food processor before placing it in the colander overnight. I did bake it slowly 300 degrees for 3 hours basting in every 30 minutes and keeping it covered with aluminum foil. It was slighty fluffy and so delicious. What a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2011
First time making tofu turkey. I was the only one out of the group of my friends who was vegetarian, but they all loved it. I made a little more sauce to put on top of the Tofu Turkey for flavor. I plan on making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by michaeldckmn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2010
I made this last week for Thanksgiving and it was a huge hit. My brother is actually pushing for me to make it again because he liked it so much. I followed some of CanCan's edits and rebasted more often. I think next time I am going to blanch the tofu first in broth to give it a stronger flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2010
This was a good substitute for turkey on Thanksgiving. I halved the recipe (only two of us were willing to eat it). I added some soy/garlic/onion to the tofu before pressing. Also I pressed much longer than recommended (about 24 hours), then baked about about 350. Could not find any miso, so I left that out. Topping with gravy prior to serving helps the flavors a lot! I liked this a lot more than that the frozen tofurkey!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by snsyum

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2010
I have been making this every Thanksgiving since 1999. It is a huge hit with my family and friends, including the meat eaters. One thing I do differently, is I add some seasoning to the tofu (garlic salt, cumin, etc) before draining it in the colander. Also, I leave it overnight to drain as the texture is much firmer and holds up better when inverted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2010
Made this last week and I was very skeptical at how it would shape and taste. I began the process a couple of days prior to cooking the tofu. I let it drain with a weight for a full 24 hours. Occasionally I would pull it out of the fridge and press down on the weight to help drain more. I then followed the recipe and when it was stuffed I put it back in the fridge for a couple of hours more. When it was time to put it on a baking pan to cook I honestly thought it would just break apart and I'd be left with a big mess, however, it molded perfectly! I covered with foil and basted every 30mins or so in a 350 temp oven for a couple of hours. The taste was pretty good but tasted even better the following day. Next time I will pulse the tofu mixture so it is completely smooth prior to putting it in a colander as mine was lumpy and cracked a little. This was time consuming and probably more expensive than buying a tofurky from the store, but I was pleased to have tried the recipe and at least I knew what I was putting in my mouth. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Highlands Ranch, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2010
First saw a variation of this several years ago in Vegetarian Times magazine as a reader-submitted recipe. I've been making that version annually since. You might consider adding your favorite seasonings to the tofu as you crumble it; I suggest a bit of salt, white pepper, and garlic, but do whatever works for you. I love tofu but it is a bit bland and I think working in the seasonings as you mash up the tofu by hand really adds a lot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CarrieHansen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Central City, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2010
I didn't have time to make the whole version of this so basically made a tofu/stuffing "sandwich", which I baked covered in foil. Then baked without the foil, basting with basting mixture until nicely browned. My newly vegetarian daughter thought this was excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Tofu Turkey I

See how to make a stuffed and basted vegan Thanksgiving "turkey."

Easy Turkey Tetrazzini

This simple dish features leftover turkey in a creamy noodle casserole.

How to Cook with Tofu

See all you can do with this healthy, power-packed protein.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States