Tofu Turkey I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2013
This recipe is terrific. Even my non-vegetarian family enjoyed it. One thing though, the instructions do not call for blending the tofu but I learned that is better if we blend the tofu rather than just crumbling it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Studio City, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2012
I was a little disappointed with my results. I made this for thanksgiving and although my family liked it, i didnt. It didnt taste bad and the presentation was really good it actually looked liked turkey. I guess the positive reviews just made me really excited.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2011
I followed this recipe for Christmas dinner. I did boil the tofu in vegatarian broth and run it through a food processor before placing it in the colander overnight. I did bake it slowly 300 degrees for 3 hours basting in every 30 minutes and keeping it covered with aluminum foil. It was slighty fluffy and so delicious. What a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2011
First time making tofu turkey. I was the only one out of the group of my friends who was vegetarian, but they all loved it. I made a little more sauce to put on top of the Tofu Turkey for flavor. I plan on making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by michaeldckmn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2010
I made this last week for Thanksgiving and it was a huge hit. My brother is actually pushing for me to make it again because he liked it so much. I followed some of CanCan's edits and rebasted more often. I think next time I am going to blanch the tofu first in broth to give it a stronger flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2010
This was a good substitute for turkey on Thanksgiving. I halved the recipe (only two of us were willing to eat it). I added some soy/garlic/onion to the tofu before pressing. Also I pressed much longer than recommended (about 24 hours), then baked about about 350. Could not find any miso, so I left that out. Topping with gravy prior to serving helps the flavors a lot! I liked this a lot more than that the frozen tofurkey!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by snsyum

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2010
I have been making this every Thanksgiving since 1999. It is a huge hit with my family and friends, including the meat eaters. One thing I do differently, is I add some seasoning to the tofu (garlic salt, cumin, etc) before draining it in the colander. Also, I leave it overnight to drain as the texture is much firmer and holds up better when inverted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2010
Made this last week and I was very skeptical at how it would shape and taste. I began the process a couple of days prior to cooking the tofu. I let it drain with a weight for a full 24 hours. Occasionally I would pull it out of the fridge and press down on the weight to help drain more. I then followed the recipe and when it was stuffed I put it back in the fridge for a couple of hours more. When it was time to put it on a baking pan to cook I honestly thought it would just break apart and I'd be left with a big mess, however, it molded perfectly! I covered with foil and basted every 30mins or so in a 350 temp oven for a couple of hours. The taste was pretty good but tasted even better the following day. Next time I will pulse the tofu mixture so it is completely smooth prior to putting it in a colander as mine was lumpy and cracked a little. This was time consuming and probably more expensive than buying a tofurky from the store, but I was pleased to have tried the recipe and at least I knew what I was putting in my mouth. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Highlands Ranch, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2010
First saw a variation of this several years ago in Vegetarian Times magazine as a reader-submitted recipe. I've been making that version annually since. You might consider adding your favorite seasonings to the tofu as you crumble it; I suggest a bit of salt, white pepper, and garlic, but do whatever works for you. I love tofu but it is a bit bland and I think working in the seasonings as you mash up the tofu by hand really adds a lot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CarrieHansen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Central City, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2010
I didn't have time to make the whole version of this so basically made a tofu/stuffing "sandwich", which I baked covered in foil. Then baked without the foil, basting with basting mixture until nicely browned. My newly vegetarian daughter thought this was excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Tofu Turkey I

See how to make a stuffed and basted vegan Thanksgiving "turkey."

Easy Turkey Tetrazzini

This simple dish features leftover turkey in a creamy noodle casserole.

How to Cook with Tofu

See all you can do with this healthy, power-packed protein.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States