Tofu Tacos I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2007
LOVE it!! Husband went vegetarian again so I had to look up a taco recipe for him as it is his favorite dinner. Used 1/2 plain firm tofu block, added 1 can black beans, and omitted the tomato sauce cause of heartburn (prego me) and acid reflux (DH).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2007
AmaZing!!!! my husband is a recent vegetarian and although i eat meat.. tacos are usually very fattening (ground chuck) i dont miss the meat at all and i dont think i ll ever make regular tacos again.. right combo of seasoning and sooo fast and easy to make... although i didnt have herb tofu but someone else used mrs. dash and i used to lol.. thanks for the tip =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2007
Awesome! Even added a few of our own ingredients- great tacos!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heidi

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Reno, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2007
This is a very good recipe. Very tasty and very easy. I made the recipe with frozen tofu. If you take extra firm tofu and freeze it in the container, take it out on the day you use it and let it thaw, it squeezes our moisture like a sponge. I usually wrap it in towells and soak out the moisture too. It made a firm, nice texture, taco filling. My picky kids even loved this!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2007
Freaking awesome. I couldn't find any flavored tofu, so I just used the firm normal kind and sprinkled it with Garlic & Herb Mrs. Dash LOL. It worked though. Really good, and I'll definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2007
Really good! I only had plain extra-firm tofu, so I mixed in one pinch of basil, one pinch of oregano, some soy sauce, a splash of balsamic vinegar, and some spicy rooster sauce to the crumbled tofu before cooking it. I made the tacos with corn tortillas and I thought they were delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
66 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MonaG

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Graniteville, Vermont, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2006
I make this for my husband all the time. We love this delicious and fast recipe. I usually decrease the amount of chili powder by half to make it a little less spicy. I also substitute salsa for the tomato sauce to give it extra flavor and always use tortilla instead of taco shells. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2006
Everyone liked this. In addition to the basic recipe I also added rice and green peppers for texture. The flavor was good and we enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2005
Great basic recipe. The spice combo was good, but will add more cumin next time since I really like cumin. I will also add some beans and corn for a little more texture. Couldn't get much easier!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2004
not bad...but make sure to use very firm tofu.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LUNABABY

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 101) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Pablito's Chicken Tacos

See how to put a fresh twist on an old Mexican standard.

Taqueria-Style Tacos (Carne Asada)

See how to make authentic taqueria-style beef tacos.

Turkey and Yam Spicy Tacos

See how to make spicy turkey and yam filling for tacos.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States