Tofu Tacos I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2007
I was reluctant to try this recipe for a long time because I thought there was no way it would be worth the hassle. Also my husband is not a big fan of tofu so I thought there was no way he would eat it. But he went crazy over it and gobbled it all up! There wasn't even any left for me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lahore, Punjab, Pakistan
Living In: Paris, Île-De-France, France

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2007
could only find plain tofu, so at first i added in some soy sauce, oregano, and garlic powder.... then i added about 3/4 a packet of mccormick spicy taco mix.. and then the tomato sauce and a few squirts of lemon juice...even though i didnt follow the recipe it was EXCELLENT! my whole family liked it.. even my super picky boyfriend who ended up eating 4 of them! will definetly make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2007
I followed the recipe exactly except for not having herb tofu so I just added 1T of McCormick Poultry seasoning to the tofu after crumbling. Skipped on the cheese and avocado. Leftovers great in soft tacos the next day! **Oh yeah and I always freeze my tofu per the Mock Chicken recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2007
These are soooooo good! I grilled the tofu with the onions and garlic and added the tomato sauce and although I'm sure the seasonings you recommended are good, I just used one of those Taco Seasoning Mix packets. Then I topped it off with cilantro and diced tomatoes instead of adding the cilantro into the tofu. I prefer to make my own shells by frying the tortillas in oil, for they taste more authentic that way. I also HIGHLY RECOMMEND freezing your tofu at least 72 hours before preparation, see "Mock Chicken" recipe submitted by Silverwolf. My family loved it! Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maya

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2007
This recipe is FANTASTIC and HEALTHY! I love it, I cook it again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2007
LOVE it!! Husband went vegetarian again so I had to look up a taco recipe for him as it is his favorite dinner. Used 1/2 plain firm tofu block, added 1 can black beans, and omitted the tomato sauce cause of heartburn (prego me) and acid reflux (DH).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2007
AmaZing!!!! my husband is a recent vegetarian and although i eat meat.. tacos are usually very fattening (ground chuck) i dont miss the meat at all and i dont think i ll ever make regular tacos again.. right combo of seasoning and sooo fast and easy to make... although i didnt have herb tofu but someone else used mrs. dash and i used to lol.. thanks for the tip =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2007
Awesome! Even added a few of our own ingredients- great tacos!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heidi

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Reno, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2007
This is a very good recipe. Very tasty and very easy. I made the recipe with frozen tofu. If you take extra firm tofu and freeze it in the container, take it out on the day you use it and let it thaw, it squeezes our moisture like a sponge. I usually wrap it in towells and soak out the moisture too. It made a firm, nice texture, taco filling. My picky kids even loved this!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2007
Freaking awesome. I couldn't find any flavored tofu, so I just used the firm normal kind and sprinkled it with Garlic & Herb Mrs. Dash LOL. It worked though. Really good, and I'll definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 106) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pablito's Chicken Tacos

See how to put a fresh twist on an old Mexican standard.

Taqueria-Style Tacos (Carne Asada)

See how to make authentic taqueria-style beef tacos.

Turkey and Yam Spicy Tacos

See how to make spicy turkey and yam filling for tacos.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States