Tofu Tacos I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2011
In the word's of my 7 year old, "Mommy, Can every Sunday be taco night?" followed by her sister with a "These are the best tacos ever." No one missed the beef or knew it was even missing for that matter. Delicioius and easy and I even got a thanks for dinner from both of them ; ) !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2011
I use regular firm tofu that has been frozen and thawed. I add lots of vegetables to the tofu mix, including bell peppers, mushroom, zucchini, cauliflower, fresh tomatoes, or whatever is in my fridge. I often add half a can of diced tomatoes and about a teaspoon of cumin in addition to the regular spices. I make this at least once every 2 weeks - my boyfriend and I love it! We make it vegan by using vegan wraps and only topping it with avocado instead of cheese and sour cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2011
This was excellent for our first time trying tofu! My 12 year old ate it up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda Wikert

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2011
We thought this was pretty good for what it is and I will liklely make it again. It did definitley have the the consistency of eggs but that didn't bother us. I couldn't find garden herb tofu so I used plain and added Mrs. Dash onion and herb mix with a little basil and garlic powder. It turned out too spicy for my 5 year old but hubby and I thought it was the perfect amount of spice. He even went back for seconds which was surprising since he was very skeptical about a tofu dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2011
I gave it 5 because i used the review of someone else. I tried tofu tacos w/ firm tofu before and hated it. One review said to press it, freeze it and then press again. That's what i did. I pressed all night then froze until i was ready to use. Pressed again for about on hour. It gave it the right texture. I used a packet seasoning this time and squeezed a lime on there. I dont think it needs tomato sauce cooked with it. I served it the first day with tacos and the next day with tostadas. My husband ate all the tacos not realizing it wasn't carne :)))
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LaVella Taylor

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2011
This was fabulous! Exceeded my expectations. I only had plain tofu so I increased some of the seasonings to our own taste. I ate it like a taco salad and my vegetarian guest ate it in a taco and both were great. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Branford, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2011
I'm not a big fan of tofu but wanted to try this. And i also like to keep a recipe as close to the original on the first try. I usually eat bean or soy crumble tacos. I had regular firm tofu and there is a recipe on here for Taco seasoning 1 that i like to keep on hand instead of seasoning packets so i used that. And didn't have tomato sauce so i used Herdez Mexican tomato sauce. So it was close and i was surprised at how much i liked it thanks Ok so i wasn't crazy about this for tacos but think it would be great for breakfast burritos as the tofu is more like scrambled eggs. But i am going to use the recipe on soy crumbles
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Simi Valley, California, USA
Living In: Chandler, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2011
Amazing! Subbed the tomato sauce for chipotle-adobo puree for extra spice. Recommended and will certainly make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2011
This was great. Pressed the tofu between 2 plates for a few minutes then crumbled it with a spoon. Made the tofu mixture as called for, but feel like it would be even better with more spices or maybe a taco seasoning packet. I didn't notice any big wow from the cilantro, so if we weren't already cutting it up for some pico de gallo I would have probably skipped it. Served in flour tortillas & topped with shredded cheese, sour cream, taco sauce, & homemade pico de gallo (onion, tomato, cilantro, & lime juice). Will definitely make this again as not only do I prefer the texture over TVP, but it's cheaper & healthier too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brianna Woody

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by jbertsch
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2010
The seasoning was perfect in this recipe! I did change a couple things because of what I had on hand but these still turned out amazing. I omitted the tomato sauce and tomatoes and just used salsa in place.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jbertsch

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 106) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pablito's Chicken Tacos

See how to put a fresh twist on an old Mexican standard.

Taqueria-Style Tacos (Carne Asada)

See how to make authentic taqueria-style beef tacos.

Turkey and Yam Spicy Tacos

See how to make spicy turkey and yam filling for tacos.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States