Tofu Tacos I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2012
Made these tacos today. I could not find garden herb tofu, so instead I added dried basil, oregano, parsley, and a bit of crushed rosemary to extra firm cubed tofu and mashed it a bit in a bowl. I also juiced 1 1/2 limes for the tanginess (and because the ones I had were not particularly juicy). I also added a bit more salt (we likey salt). This recipe was great! My husband is not a vegetarian, and he loved it! Thanks for a delicious tofu recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: La Crescenta, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2012
These were so yummy! Fast and fresh, I would serve these to any tofu critic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2012
With my alterations, 5 stars. This was one of the first recipes I ever made with tofu, and now I crave it! I use plenty of the Taco Seasoning I from this site instead of the mix of spices. Saute the onion and garlic for a couple of minutes before adding tofu. Fresh lime juice and cilantro are essential. For the tomato sauce, I use whatever I have on hand: canned tomatoes (my fave), spaghetti sauce, whatever. I serve with black beans, avocado, cilantro, and salsa verde. Makes my omnivore husband forget it's vegan! He told me to never make beef or turkey tacos again. I also use this recipe for making mixed veggie tacos, equally delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2012
Used plain tofu, didn't have cilantro. We're not vegetarian. 3 yr old loved it, I liked it, hubbie found it lacking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2012
less than mediocre - just make the "tasty lentil tacos". These are FAR better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2012
We've been trying to go "Meatless in March" and stumbled upon this recipe. Taking the advice of another reviewer, I seasoned my plain tofu with a pinch of oregano, basil, and garlic salt and added a few splashes on balsamic vinegar until the tofu had some flavor. Instead of using tomato sauce, I subbed in a 1/2 cup of medium salsa. Add some guacamole and both my husband and I were very pleasantly surprised. This was our first successful tofu recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2011
Very good and easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2011
Great flavor, too mushy/liquidy. I would probably use veggie crumbles next time instead of tofu, or toss the tofu in flour to give it a crispier texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2011
Easy to make and very flavorful. My husband enjoyed and said I could make them again The ultimate seal of approval. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Green Bay, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2011
make it vegan - skip the cheese and sub vegan cheese!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hope Valley, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Union, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 101) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pablito's Chicken Tacos

See how to put a fresh twist on an old Mexican standard.

Chicken Tacos

See how to make quick-and-easy chicken tacos.

Turkey and Yam Spicy Tacos

See how to make spicy turkey and yam filling for tacos.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States