Tofu Stroganoff Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2013
For Stephersnees, who commented about the use of Tofu, I wonder if soft tofu was used instead of firm or extra firm, it really makes a difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2013
Did not taste anything like stroganoff at all. very unhappy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2013
Very very good. I mixed some extra soy sauce into the tofu at the beginning to help brown. I also used a container of sour cream instead of the cottage cheese. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rocky River, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2012
Looking at some of the pictures and reading the reviews, thought I'd point out to be sure and buy extra-firm tofu. After you drain it, give it a rinse, shake off as much water as you can, then lay on top of a couple of folded paper towels. Put a few folded towels on top, then slightly squish between two plates. You want to pull out the excess moisture which is making it too wet and as one reviewer mentioned "goo". After it's cut into cubes, I'd put it between paper towels and VERY gently squish some more. Don't press so hard you distort the shape. This helps to make tofu cooking more successful. Make sure you saute it on all sides until it's golden brown. Also, you can make a roux with equal amounts of flour and butter (1-2 tablespoons) and paprika, then add to the liquid in your pan to thicken it up. If you still don't like the flavor, consider adding a tablespoon or two of tomato paste. I think that might help a lot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2012
I made this recipes exactly as is except cut everything in half for two people. It was excellent and my vegetarian son loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2012
sorry but i really didn't find this recipe appealing at all. i had to add sugar because it's so sour, put in 2 bullion cubes and some salt because it's so bland, and put in a packet of Ikea's gravy to make it gravy-like, similar to traditional stroganoff. i probably would use beef next time & find a really good recipe. this one wouldn't be missed by me or my husband.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2012
I really didn't like this recipe at all. At first added all ingredients as indicated and it was way too bland, so I added more soy sauce. Well that made it taste really off. However, my boyfriend and uncle both loved it, so maybe it just wasn't my taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2012
I made it exactly as written here and it was delicious! This one is going into our regular rotation. The only thing I noticed was that we didn't need to cook the whole bag of egg noodles, we had a bunch leftover. Next time I will probably only make 2/3 of the bag.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2012
I didn't use the cottage cheese and doubled the liquids and spices. I am wondering how others had so much, even too much liquid at the end. I would have liked more actually. All in all very good just need to tweek it for more sauce. Thanks for posting this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maili

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houma, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2012
Yummy!! Everyone loved it and it's surprising how much it tastes like beef stroganof! Great flavor, thanks for a fantastic vegetarian recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JosieLLL

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Uncasville, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Lemoore, California, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 67) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Tofu Turkey I

See how to make a stuffed and basted vegan Thanksgiving "turkey."

Easy Beef Stroganoff

This rich, creamy stroganoff makes a tasty weeknight dinner.

Easy Weeknight Beef Stroganoff

Get a head start on classic beef stroganoff.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States