Tofu Sandwich Spread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2011
YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KERIS1172

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mentor, Ohio, USA
Living In: Hambden Township, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2011
Really great recipe. I am a picky eater and a vegetarian and this tastes great to me. Added some "flare" like raisins, sesame seeds, curry, mustard, etc. You can play around with what you want to put in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2011
This is excellent! I always keep tofu in the freezer, so that step was no problem for me. The modifications I made were to use half a small yellow onion, 1 TBS Bragg's Liquid Aminos instead of soy sauce, omit the lemon juice and add curry powder and paprika. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2011
I was really skeptical but this was great! I used low fat miracle whip instead of mayo for taste and calorie reasons and added pickles too. It was great on a sandwich with mustard!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2011
This is such a yummy and simple recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Snow Girls
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2010
Awsome!! I didnt know tofu could taste this good on a sandwich!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sofiesmagick

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2010
This was a recipe I've been needing-I miss my mom's chicken salad sandwiches now that I'm veggie. I think there was way to much soy sauce to it and you should definitely pep it up with spices depending on what result you want. I didn't bother with freezing the tofu-just pressed out the water-since the tofu we had on hand was pretty tough anyway. No problem with sogginess. With curry was good and worked well with the soy (which I had to much off). Next time I will add a lot of dry thyme, salt, and maybe tarragon to get a more chickensalad taste. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2010
Wow. This was great! It was super easy, different, tasty and the possibilities are endless.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by evillhog

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fortuna, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2010
It is very good as is, but I wanted an alternative to the lengthy freezing step. I found if I sliced the tofu ~1/2" thick and microwaved on low for a couple of minutes until it was hot throughout, I could then press the slices between two plates and the excess water would squeeze out. A bonus was that the tofu no longer had a raw, beany taste. I also tried a seasoning variation. Instead of the mayonnaise, I used 1/3 c. Miracle Whip, and replaced the soy sauce and lemon juice with 1 Tbs. ketchup and 2 tsp. grated horseradish, for a lightly sweet/sour/zesty flavor. The ketchup makes the sandwich filling a little pink that looks appealing. Thanks, Judy, for a whole new use for tofu.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Westchester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2010
Mmmmmm delicous! i loved every bit of this dish. i thought i had just done the best job with dealing with the tofu (it's my first time) but really, it was this great recipe! i found myself licking the spoon instead of putting the spread on bread it as so good. A great recipe for vegans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hobo on your street

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hoover, Alabama, USA

Displaying results 31-40 (of 79) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Tofu Turkey I

See how to make a stuffed and basted vegan Thanksgiving "turkey."

Grilled Brie Pear Sandwich

Take the grilled cheese sandwich to two, three levels above the next level.

Ciabatta Sandwich

Loaded with salami, cheese, onions, peppers, and topped with mozzarella.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States