Tofu Sandwich Spread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Sarah Nancy Durett
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2015
I don't really want to rate this recipe low just because I didn't think it was awful but I also didn't enjoy it. I feel like its probably not the best to try when you haven't had much experience with tofu. It was very bland after I followed the instructions. I decided to add some sriracha which did help a little with flavor but I just couldn't get it to my liking. I wouldn't recommend this to anyone who is trying tofu for the first time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Nancy Durett

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA
Living In: Taylorsville, Utah, USA
Photo by AbbiO
Reviewed: May 21, 2015
I substituted mayo for sour cream because I'm not a fan of mayonnaise, it came out amazing and I'll definitely be making this again(:
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2015
Just tried tonight.. very good! will make it again. there are lots of variations you can do with this one. Next time I am going to omit the soy sauce and add more seasonings. (need low salt)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Belle Plaine, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ADEER
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2015
I did not freeze this, I pressed it so I could use it right away. I needed it to set up overnight in the fridge. I added 1/2 spoon of each, curry powder, paprika black pepper,garlic powder, turmeric .Then I added diced red pepper about 3 Tablespoons. 1 tsp yellow mustard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ADEER

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wilmington, Delaware, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2014
I loved this recipe! I could eat this everyday.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tonit

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Longmont, Colorado, USA
Living In: Brighton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2014
After years of trying to be more vegetarian, this easy recipe has made the difference in me eating tofu. I don't have to cook anything! Freezing it first definitely makes a difference in the texture, and I use a tofu press to get the water out once I've thawed it. So far I've used tamari instead of soy sauce, b/c that's what we had, and low-fat mayo. Once I've made a batch, I split it into 2 halves, for variety. For one half, I add curry (great suggestion!). For the other, I add mustard and chopped pickles, as I would tuna salad. Both are yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Von Jocks

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2014
So......I'm a meat eater but like to eat vegetarian every once in a while. I made this for lunches at work one night, and kinda cringed while crumbling the tofu (it looked like a sponge), and then when it was time to eat it a few days later, I started dreading it. Before I tossed it out, I gave it a bite. I have to say, this is PRETTY. D@MN. TASTY (so much better than the day-of). I threw in a couple of splashes of hot sesame oil. The taste is overwhelmingly soy sauce, but I don't mind that....the tofu cost 99 cents, so this is an incredibly cheap meal. BTW, the tofu took almost a day to thaw, that's' between sitting out on the counter most of the time and in the fridge!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STARDUST_331

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Scarsdale, New York, USA
Living In: Alexandria, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2013
OMG so good! Great as is and perfect for adding other ingredients. Very nice!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2013
Well, to be honest, I have never tried tofu before and quite frankly, the thought of it used to induce nausea.However, that being said, I was given 3 packs of extra firm tofu(we are poor and I guess it was cheaper for that person than buying meat, but beggars cant be choosers)so I had no choice but to figure out how to fix this stuff and feed my kids and actually make it taste edible.I found this recipe and tried it out.IM SURPRISED, it was actually good.I forgot however, to use the soy sauce until the end so when I did finally add it I didn't even measure it since half was already gone.If I had to guess, I'd say I used less than a TB but as stated most the tofu was gone already.I found the spread to be crumbly, I guess is the word, but I had extra firm and it wasn't that bad, it was not soggy at all anyway.I also had no celery so I added a little celery seed, and some dill weed too, and I did put in a dash of cayenne pepper to give it more kick but not too much my kids don't like spicy.I also added sunflower seeds for a crunch.I was going to add finely diced bell pepper but I was out of that too(again any food is a blessing).I didn't add onion either.I did freeze my tofu first though and allowed it to thaw and etc...made the difference I believe. We ate this rolled up in tortillas since we had no bread and I added cooked black beans atop and sprinkled cheese on, its good.I saved the rest and put it in the fridge and we ate it on crackers the next day it was still good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2012
My family loves this recipe. Exactly how it is written. Delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 81) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Tofu Turkey I

See how to make a stuffed and basted vegan Thanksgiving "turkey."

Grilled Brie Pear Sandwich

Take the grilled cheese sandwich to two, three levels above the next level.

Ciabatta Sandwich

Loaded with salami, cheese, onions, peppers, and topped with mozzarella.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States