Tofu Sandwich Spread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2008
Exceptional!! Very basic recipe yet the alterations can be endless. Ran out of curry powder(as suggested by one of the reviews), so added dill instead. Can't wait to try it with curry tho'. Also, used half of the mayo the recipe called for and replaced the other half with plain yogurt. I love tuna salad sandwiches but hate to have to wait so long between having them(due to amount of mercury in tuna), this will be a great replacement.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rude Nun

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Tooele, Utah, USA
Photo by cookie39
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2007
I thought the recipe called for too much dressing, so I used only 1/4c. mayo, 1Tbsp.soy sauce and 1 tsp. lemon juice. It tasted good. I am always looking for things that are easy for my teenage vegetarian kids to make for their lunches... this one's a winner! The only thing that would have made this better is if you didn't have to plan ahead and freeze the tofu. I'm afraid that it would turn out soggy though if you didn't do that step.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2008
This recipe is simple yet amazing! I followed the directions but I added a stalk of celery and used white miso because that was all I had. I let is sit for a day like other reviewers has recommended, and it was SO worth the wait! My two year old gobbled it up on wheat toast with lettuce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lahli Baum Dunham

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ukiah, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2007
so easy and quick! tasted so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katie

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Roswell, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2007
My first taste of tofu & I was leary, but this was really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2008
probly my favorite tofu dish, the first time i made it without freezing it was soggy, but if you crush it over a paper towel you can get enough water out of it to get it tolerable if you dont have the time to freeze it, HIGH FIVE this is a great dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2008
I really love this! Though, the freezing part was slightly annoying 'cause I wanted it right then--but worth the wait! And I was curious about the amount of soy sauce.. but really it's amazing! I'm looking forward to stuffing a pita with this! And for experimenting some with various spices and whatnot. Huge kudos to the creator of this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2008
Sometimes it helps to let the dish sit overnight to let the flavors sink in but it tastes great as a sandwich and its really easy to make. I usually add less mayo because the tofu gives it enough of that whipped texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2008
This recipe is off the hook! In its basic form it is really good, delicious indeed! However I did add my 2 cents to it after my initial tasting though. I added a 1/4 cup of raisins, a sprinkle each of, sea salt, coarse ground black pepper, paprika, red curry powder, ground red pepper, sesame seeds, and about 2 additional tablespoons of mayo to compensate. I swear it tastes better than any tuna, egg, or chicken salad I have ever made. I never knew it could be done better with tofu! This one, even without altering the recipe, is a keeper in my honest opinion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
118 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2008
Very good! I think you really need to freeze the tofu, so don't skip that step. It was great in wheat pita with some lettuce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 77) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Tofu Turkey I

See how to make a stuffed and basted vegan Thanksgiving "turkey."

Grilled Brie Pear Sandwich

Take the grilled cheese sandwich to two, three levels above the next level.

Ciabatta Sandwich

Loaded with salami, cheese, onions, peppers, and topped with mozzarella.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States