Tofu Sandwich Spread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2008
Excellent starter! It's a keeper. We have added celery salt, curry powder, mustard, pepper, or dill for a variance. The freezing technique is a must.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2008
This is a great, simple recipe. If you don't want to freeze, you can press the drained tofu between two plates, putting some weight like a couple of cans on top of the top plate. Do this for about 30 minutes. It gets quite a bit of moisture out. Freezing is best because it actually changes the molecular structure of the tofu and gives it a firmer texture. Yummy recipe,thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janie

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2008
I am eating this as I type. It's super yummy and I used low fat mayo to make it a pinch healthier. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Suzy of the Sunshine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2008
This recipe is off the hook! In its basic form it is really good, delicious indeed! However I did add my 2 cents to it after my initial tasting though. I added a 1/4 cup of raisins, a sprinkle each of, sea salt, coarse ground black pepper, paprika, red curry powder, ground red pepper, sesame seeds, and about 2 additional tablespoons of mayo to compensate. I swear it tastes better than any tuna, egg, or chicken salad I have ever made. I never knew it could be done better with tofu! This one, even without altering the recipe, is a keeper in my honest opinion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
115 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2008
Sometimes it helps to let the dish sit overnight to let the flavors sink in but it tastes great as a sandwich and its really easy to make. I usually add less mayo because the tofu gives it enough of that whipped texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2008
pretty good , just a tad dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by goose

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Moab, Utah, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2008
This was a good recipe. We put the spread in pita pockets with lettuce and mustard. I think next time we'll either add mustard to the recipe, or perhaps Naysoya Dijonayse, which is a bit tangier. Overall the recipe was simple to make and great tasting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Poland, Maine, USA
Living In: Portland, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2008
i don't think i'm used to eating tofu raw
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2008
I really love this! Though, the freezing part was slightly annoying 'cause I wanted it right then--but worth the wait! And I was curious about the amount of soy sauce.. but really it's amazing! I'm looking forward to stuffing a pita with this! And for experimenting some with various spices and whatnot. Huge kudos to the creator of this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2008
probly my favorite tofu dish, the first time i made it without freezing it was soggy, but if you crush it over a paper towel you can get enough water out of it to get it tolerable if you dont have the time to freeze it, HIGH FIVE this is a great dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 77) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Tofu Turkey I

See how to make a stuffed and basted vegan Thanksgiving "turkey."

Grilled Brie Pear Sandwich

Take the grilled cheese sandwich to two, three levels above the next level.

Ciabatta Sandwich

Loaded with salami, cheese, onions, peppers, and topped with mozzarella.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States