Tofu Sandwich Spread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2011
This was quite good! My first attempt at making something with tofu! I used 2 ribs of celery as they were not too large, and 2 green onions. Added a bit of yellow mustard, to make it more like the egg salad I usually make, and some leftover sliced black olives. I had bought extra-firm tofu, and it worked just fine. (It did take 2 days in the fridge to thaw almost completely, so next time I'll plan on thawing for 3 days.) The texture after thawing and crumbling is like hard-boiled egg. The whole family proclaimed it a winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Monrovia, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2011
YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KERIS1172

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mentor, Ohio, USA
Living In: Hambden Township, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2011
Really great recipe. I am a picky eater and a vegetarian and this tastes great to me. Added some "flare" like raisins, sesame seeds, curry, mustard, etc. You can play around with what you want to put in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2011
This is excellent! I always keep tofu in the freezer, so that step was no problem for me. The modifications I made were to use half a small yellow onion, 1 TBS Bragg's Liquid Aminos instead of soy sauce, omit the lemon juice and add curry powder and paprika. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2011
I was really skeptical but this was great! I used low fat miracle whip instead of mayo for taste and calorie reasons and added pickles too. It was great on a sandwich with mustard!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2011
This is such a yummy and simple recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Snow Girls
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2010
Awsome!! I didnt know tofu could taste this good on a sandwich!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sofiesmagick

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2010
This was a recipe I've been needing-I miss my mom's chicken salad sandwiches now that I'm veggie. I think there was way to much soy sauce to it and you should definitely pep it up with spices depending on what result you want. I didn't bother with freezing the tofu-just pressed out the water-since the tofu we had on hand was pretty tough anyway. No problem with sogginess. With curry was good and worked well with the soy (which I had to much off). Next time I will add a lot of dry thyme, salt, and maybe tarragon to get a more chickensalad taste. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2010
Wow. This was great! It was super easy, different, tasty and the possibilities are endless.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by evillhog

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fortuna, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2010
It is very good as is, but I wanted an alternative to the lengthy freezing step. I found if I sliced the tofu ~1/2" thick and microwaved on low for a couple of minutes until it was hot throughout, I could then press the slices between two plates and the excess water would squeeze out. A bonus was that the tofu no longer had a raw, beany taste. I also tried a seasoning variation. Instead of the mayonnaise, I used 1/3 c. Miracle Whip, and replaced the soy sauce and lemon juice with 1 Tbs. ketchup and 2 tsp. grated horseradish, for a lightly sweet/sour/zesty flavor. The ketchup makes the sandwich filling a little pink that looks appealing. Thanks, Judy, for a whole new use for tofu.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Westchester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 80) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Tofu Turkey I

See how to make a stuffed and basted vegan Thanksgiving "turkey."

Grilled Brie Pear Sandwich

Take the grilled cheese sandwich to two, three levels above the next level.

Ciabatta Sandwich

Loaded with salami, cheese, onions, peppers, and topped with mozzarella.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States