Tofu Sandwich Spread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2011
I was really skeptical but this was great! I used low fat miracle whip instead of mayo for taste and calorie reasons and added pickles too. It was great on a sandwich with mustard!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2011
This is such a yummy and simple recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Snow Girls
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2010
Awsome!! I didnt know tofu could taste this good on a sandwich!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sofiesmagick

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2010
This was a recipe I've been needing-I miss my mom's chicken salad sandwiches now that I'm veggie. I think there was way to much soy sauce to it and you should definitely pep it up with spices depending on what result you want. I didn't bother with freezing the tofu-just pressed out the water-since the tofu we had on hand was pretty tough anyway. No problem with sogginess. With curry was good and worked well with the soy (which I had to much off). Next time I will add a lot of dry thyme, salt, and maybe tarragon to get a more chickensalad taste. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2010
Wow. This was great! It was super easy, different, tasty and the possibilities are endless.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by evillhog

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fortuna, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2010
It is very good as is, but I wanted an alternative to the lengthy freezing step. I found if I sliced the tofu ~1/2" thick and microwaved on low for a couple of minutes until it was hot throughout, I could then press the slices between two plates and the excess water would squeeze out. A bonus was that the tofu no longer had a raw, beany taste. I also tried a seasoning variation. Instead of the mayonnaise, I used 1/3 c. Miracle Whip, and replaced the soy sauce and lemon juice with 1 Tbs. ketchup and 2 tsp. grated horseradish, for a lightly sweet/sour/zesty flavor. The ketchup makes the sandwich filling a little pink that looks appealing. Thanks, Judy, for a whole new use for tofu.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Westchester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2010
Mmmmmm delicous! i loved every bit of this dish. i thought i had just done the best job with dealing with the tofu (it's my first time) but really, it was this great recipe! i found myself licking the spoon instead of putting the spread on bread it as so good. A great recipe for vegans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hobo on your street

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hoover, Alabama, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2010
THIS IS AN AWESOME SPREAD. I read many reviews before making and followed the following advice: I added curry to add color; I also added garlic powder. It still seemed to need something else so I added some Adobo with cumin. That was just what it needed! I used it to make finger sandwiches for a church luncheon. There was not a drop left!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2010
amazingly addictive!i didnt have celery so i added a grated carrot and instead of the lemon juice i put in mustard. this is so good with toasted french baguette and a sliced tomato on top.....if you love egg salad sandwiches and dont want the cholesterol you have to....(have to!) try this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2010
We love this. The only change I make is to double the onion and celery. It's even better the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SherryL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 76) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Tofu Turkey I

See how to make a stuffed and basted vegan Thanksgiving "turkey."

Grilled Brie Pear Sandwich

Take the grilled cheese sandwich to two, three levels above the next level.

Pulled Pork Pesto Sandwich

The best of the South meets the freshest flavors of Italy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States