Tofu Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2008
I thought this salad was exceptionally delicious and healthy. I recommend pressing the entire tofu block for at least 20 minutes before to remove excess water in the tofu (I place the tofu on a plate and put some weight on top -- like another plate with a bag of beans on top -- and then pour off the liquid once it builds up). I think the pressed tofu is able to capture the marinade better and just tastes nicer. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
87 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2005
Loved it! Colorful, crunchy, tasty. Healthy too. I added extra peanuts because I like them a lot, but in fact the recommended amount would have been better. Might try a bit of cilantro or a dash of lime juice next time. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sagamihara, Kanagawa, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2010
This recipe obeys the 4 flavors in Thai food: sweet, salty, sour, hot. Nice. It also has great textures. Many reviewers suggested pressing tofu before use. I agree but went one step further. Since the tofu is not to be cooked and there's a raw, beany taste to uncooked tofu, I microwaved the tofu on LOW for a few minutes until it was very hot throughout before pressing and draining. I also subbed garlic powder for the crushed garlic b/c I'm not crazy about a strong raw garlic taste, and I put the shredded cabbage aside to be used as a bed under the marinated ingredients. Really enjoyed the resulting almost no-cook summer dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Westchester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2006
What do you mean the "leftovers"...there were none! Absolutely amazed that this turned out so well as I usually shy away from using tofu...impressed at how easy and quick it was to prepare; for something so quick the outcome was incredible- stunning colours /a fresh and fruity taste(with a kick due to my peanuts!!). I could not get sweet chili sauce so used a chinese plum sauce. I substituted green beans for snowpeas and also added 3 colours of peppers (capsicums) for their sweet taste, great colours and crunchy texture. Finally, instead of regular peanuts I used a "mexican botana" flavoured variety, which added an amazing kick of lime and chile (I suggest adding lime if you are using regular peanuts). The best accolade was that my husband couldnt get enough of it and insists I make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Bath, Somerset, England, U.K.
Living In: Playa Del Carmen, Quintana Roo, Mexico

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2009
I really enjoy the flavours and texture of this dish, but find the ingredients a bit out of balance. As written, I find it heavy on tofu, and a bit short on marinade and snow-peas. I'd recommend doubling the snow-peas, and (for me) halving the tofu. If you keep the tofu quantity as written, I'd recommend doing perhaps an extra 50% marinade - depends a bit on how finely you cube the tofu, and whether you'd like a little extra marinade to get anywhere near the veggies, or not. Anyway, in principle, it's great! I shall keep experimenting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2008
this was ok as written. i made it a second time and made these changes. first i used chicken instead of tofu, sugar peas instead of snap peas used 4 baby carrots as i had no other ones in the house and doubled the red cabbage. i cooked the chicken in the marinated sauce then stirred all together in a large bowl and served over angel hair pasta, also added soya sauce. yum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2008
I'm not one for tofu usually, but this salad was really good, and even better the next day once you let all of the veggies absorb the dressing. Made a few changes: we added in a bit of sea salt and left the snow peas raw, which I think makes it even better. They're crunchier that way. The recipe can easily be doubled, and next time I think we'll take it on a picnic. Thanks for the submission!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2010
REALLY, really delicious!! One thing I will change next time: double the liquid ingredients in the marinade. Otherwise, you've got a pretty dry salad there.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by smallu

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jaybe
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2006
Totally surprised. It was so beautiful I had to take a picture. Simple yet bursting with flavour! Definitely will become a staple meal on my menu :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2010
This was delicious, and I will make it again. Important to note, is that I pressed the tofu between a towel to get excess water off (for about 30 minutes).... it helps the tofu absorb more flavor. Also important, is that I doubled the sauce, because otherwise there simply is NOT enough sauce for the salad. I didn't have peanuts, I used chopped cashews. Next time, I might try to reduce the amount of sesame oil a little, for health reasons. Overall, a yummy recipe that deserves 5 stars for taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 67) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Yuba Noodle Salad

A yuba "noodle" and cabbage salad with a flavorful peanut dressing.

Broccoli-Cauliflower Salad

See how easy it is to make this hearty, salad-bar-style salad.

Thai Cucumber Salad

Learn how to make this delicate cucumber salad, full of Thai flavors.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States