Tofu Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2010
This recipe obeys the 4 flavors in Thai food: sweet, salty, sour, hot. Nice. It also has great textures. Many reviewers suggested pressing tofu before use. I agree but went one step further. Since the tofu is not to be cooked and there's a raw, beany taste to uncooked tofu, I microwaved the tofu on LOW for a few minutes until it was very hot throughout before pressing and draining. I also subbed garlic powder for the crushed garlic b/c I'm not crazy about a strong raw garlic taste, and I put the shredded cabbage aside to be used as a bed under the marinated ingredients. Really enjoyed the resulting almost no-cook summer dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Westchester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2010
This was delicious, and I will make it again. Important to note, is that I pressed the tofu between a towel to get excess water off (for about 30 minutes).... it helps the tofu absorb more flavor. Also important, is that I doubled the sauce, because otherwise there simply is NOT enough sauce for the salad. I didn't have peanuts, I used chopped cashews. Next time, I might try to reduce the amount of sesame oil a little, for health reasons. Overall, a yummy recipe that deserves 5 stars for taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2010
Nice healthy recipe to get tofu in your diet, with tangy Asian flavours. Thanks for uploading. Changes I made: As suggested by others, the second time I made it, I tried chicken instead of tofu. Just bake an equal weight of chicken breast in the oven for 25 minutes, then shred into small pieces with your fingers. I also used Chinese cabbage (aka Chinese lea Tofu Salad Your Rating: (more stars = better)f) since I had no red cabbage to hand. Finally, used more dressing than stated in the recipe, as others recommended. Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2010
This dish was very flavorful and refreshing. I doubled the sauce as other suggested. I ended up adding a lot of flavoring at the end as well (including rice wine vinegar and teriyaki sauce). I also sauteed the tofu for a few minutes and let cool before combining.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CIGALL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New York, New York, USA
Reviewed: May 9, 2010
Delicious! I made this as others had recommended and doubled the marinade so that my veggies would be really covered. As for the tofu, I pressed it with a plate and a bag of rice for 1 hour, then cut it into cubes and froze it overnight in a plastic bag. I thawed it this morning by soaking it in a bowl of hot water and then pan seared it before marinating- a lot more work but totally made the salad! I also did not cook my peas and julienned my carrots instead of shredding to give the salad more crunch. Turned out awesome and I will absolutely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2010
i really did not like it, even though there are lots of stuff i like in it, it still could not make the tofu taste good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2010
REALLY, really delicious!! One thing I will change next time: double the liquid ingredients in the marinade. Otherwise, you've got a pretty dry salad there.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by smallu

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2010
I love this salad. It is easy, delicious and nutritious. It keeps well in the refrigerator. I like to add a few sprigs of fresh cilantro, too. I do not really measure anything; just add together to taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2010
Very good taste, but next time I would double the amount of marinade. I added extra chili sauce at the end because there was just not enough marinade. I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2009
This was exactly the dish I was looking for. I doubled the dressing portion and made sure the tofu was well drained. The snow peas were only boiled for a minute, so they keep their crunch! The leftovers stayed well too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SillyBlondeChick

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 66) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Broccoli-Cauliflower Salad

See how easy it is to make this hearty, salad-bar-style salad.

Napa Cabbage Salad

This flavorful, crunchy salad will be a hit at your next potluck.

Thai Cucumber Salad

Learn how to make this delicate cucumber salad, full of Thai flavors.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States