Tofu Quiche with Broccoli Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2001
I was amazed. So was my friend after he finished eating and I told him it was all tofu. I chickened out at the last minute and added one egg though---this was my first ever cooking experience with tofu. The fun is serving it and after they've eaten telling them it's tofu!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2003
This was very easy and delicious. I would make this again. I made this with a whole wheat crust and everyone enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SKOONUS

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2003
The best vegetarian Quiche we ever tasted!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2004
YUMMY! Made this for a brunch and it was a big hit - even with the non-vegetarians.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2004
Absolutely delicious and so easy to make. One thing I will change next time (and that's because of personal taste) is to put red pepper to taste as opposed to 1/2 a teaspoon. I actually only used a 1/4 teaspoon and it was still to spicy for me. My co-worker whom I brought a piece to loved it too but she found that it could have used more red pepper. Go figure! Definitely think this should be "red pepper to taste" like the recipe calls for black pepper. Will definitely make this one again and serve it to my friends to see if they can tell it's made from tofu! Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Riverdale, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2005
wow, great recipe - even I couldn't screw it up! (I never seem to have all the ingredients when I cook, so I end up experimentally substituting things). I only had a 13oz bag of frozen broccoli, so threw in some frozen mixed bell pepper strips (tho I chopped them into smaller pieces). I don't have a food processor so I mashed the tofu up in a bowl. The only "spices" I had were ground black pepper and garlic powder. I had some left over salsa, so I threw that in in lieu of the ground red pepper. I saw some grape tomatoes in the fridge, and chopped up a small handful of those as well. And I only had about a quarter cup of chopped red onion. (I kinda steamed the broccoli and peppers together with the onion and garlic powder to thaw them out a little before adding them) After mixing it all together, it seemed sort of crumbly and I was worried it wouldn't "gel", so I added two eggs (I think that is what binds it together?). I also added a small amount of whole wheat flour (it was called for in another quiche recipe, so I thought I'd try it). And then that still didn't look right to me, so I added a small amount of soy milk. After I put it in a pie crust I found some parmesan cheese mix that had come in a bag of frozen ravioli, so I sprinkled that on top. Miraculously it actually tasted really good! I wish I had measured everything so I could make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2005
This quiche was delicious. My husband and I took some advice of other reviewers and added sauteed bell peppers along with the onion and garlic. We also added a about 2 tablespoons of jack cheese. This was our first experience with a tofu quiche and we will definitely cook it again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2006
This was so good! WOW! I made it with frozen chopped spinach instead of broccoli and it was wonderful. I had to add a little more soy milk then called for because I couldn't get it all mixed in my blender. I didn't add the red pepper, just the nutmeg, salt, and black pepper. Couldn't even tell there was tofu in it. Really yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Eau Claire, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Dixon, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2006
I made this recipe without the cheese for a lunch that had a vegan population, and they really loved it (not to mention, appreciated the effort!). I didn't try it myself, but I made three and there wasn't a bit left. Those who ate it said that the texture was just like a real quiche, and the broccoli was really yummy. I used a homemade shortening-based pie crust. I'm glad to have this recipe in case it's needed for occassions such as this again. Doubt I'd make it for myself because I looooove quiche lorraine so much! I was worried when I made this that the filling was way too thick and almost added some more liquid, but I'm glad I didn't. I forgot that this wasn't going to "set" like an egg-based quiche. Thanks for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2006
I used the basic recipe, but with real milk, some cheddar cheese, and HAM! It's not like quiche, but like a nice casserole. Satisfies the quiche craving, but without all the grease of eggs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 61) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Broccoli Quiche

You won’t believe how easy, and delicious, this vegetarian quiche is.

Light and Fluffy Spinach Quiche

See how to make a tasty, reduced-fat spinach and Cheddar quiche.

Tofu Turkey I

See how to make a stuffed and basted vegan Thanksgiving "turkey."

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States