Tofu Quiche with Broccoli Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2007
This is a great tofu recipe... especially if you are looking for something to make to change a tofu skeptic. I added more veggies - steamed cauliflower with the broccoli, sauteed mushrooms with the onions, and added a diced roasted red pepper. I also added asiago cheese to the tofu mixture as well as sprinkling it on top. Since I don't really do pie crust (never comes out right and I don't like storebought) I did a crust with wholewheat couscous. It was easy and tasty(plus it has a lot less fat than pie crust). Mix cooked couscous (make sure it's pretty dry) with salt, parsley or other herbs, and a couple egg whites. Pat it into place like a graham-cracker crumb crust into an oiled or cooking-sprayed pie plate. Bake it for ten minutes at 350 before adding the quiche ingredients. Thanks for a fun, flexible recipe. Can't wait to try other "filling" combinations.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by West End Daisy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Living In: Providence, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2006
I used the basic recipe, but with real milk, some cheddar cheese, and HAM! It's not like quiche, but like a nice casserole. Satisfies the quiche craving, but without all the grease of eggs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2006
I made this recipe without the cheese for a lunch that had a vegan population, and they really loved it (not to mention, appreciated the effort!). I didn't try it myself, but I made three and there wasn't a bit left. Those who ate it said that the texture was just like a real quiche, and the broccoli was really yummy. I used a homemade shortening-based pie crust. I'm glad to have this recipe in case it's needed for occassions such as this again. Doubt I'd make it for myself because I looooove quiche lorraine so much! I was worried when I made this that the filling was way too thick and almost added some more liquid, but I'm glad I didn't. I forgot that this wasn't going to "set" like an egg-based quiche. Thanks for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2006
This was so good! WOW! I made it with frozen chopped spinach instead of broccoli and it was wonderful. I had to add a little more soy milk then called for because I couldn't get it all mixed in my blender. I didn't add the red pepper, just the nutmeg, salt, and black pepper. Couldn't even tell there was tofu in it. Really yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Eau Claire, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Dixon, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2005
I was really excited to try this recipe based on the other readers' reviews, but it was so awful tasting that my boyfriend & I both couldn't eat it. I threw the whole thing out - what a waste. I don't know if it's just that we're not used to the taste of soy milk, as the only time I drink it is in the odd latte, but it was the only thing I could taste in the dish. Maybe the milk was bad? In any case, I won't be making it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Terrace, British Columbia, Canada
Living In: Smithers, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2005
Excellent! Consistency was great too. I added a little more dijon mustard. I've had trouble with egg quiches separating, but not this one. Wonderful recipe, thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Freehold, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Layton, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2005
Thanks to the person that suggested a hash brown crust. Great idea, Thanks! When I tasted the tofu mixture in the blender, it seemed a little bland so I added extra salt, mustard and spices. This is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2005
This quiche was delicious. My husband and I took some advice of other reviewers and added sauteed bell peppers along with the onion and garlic. We also added a about 2 tablespoons of jack cheese. This was our first experience with a tofu quiche and we will definitely cook it again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2005
Very Yummy-my husband had no idea it was tofu. I used a bag of mixed vegetables and no crust of any kind and it turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2005
wow, great recipe - even I couldn't screw it up! (I never seem to have all the ingredients when I cook, so I end up experimentally substituting things). I only had a 13oz bag of frozen broccoli, so threw in some frozen mixed bell pepper strips (tho I chopped them into smaller pieces). I don't have a food processor so I mashed the tofu up in a bowl. The only "spices" I had were ground black pepper and garlic powder. I had some left over salsa, so I threw that in in lieu of the ground red pepper. I saw some grape tomatoes in the fridge, and chopped up a small handful of those as well. And I only had about a quarter cup of chopped red onion. (I kinda steamed the broccoli and peppers together with the onion and garlic powder to thaw them out a little before adding them) After mixing it all together, it seemed sort of crumbly and I was worried it wouldn't "gel", so I added two eggs (I think that is what binds it together?). I also added a small amount of whole wheat flour (it was called for in another quiche recipe, so I thought I'd try it). And then that still didn't look right to me, so I added a small amount of soy milk. After I put it in a pie crust I found some parmesan cheese mix that had come in a bag of frozen ravioli, so I sprinkled that on top. Miraculously it actually tasted really good! I wish I had measured everything so I could make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 59) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Easy Broccoli Quiche

You won’t believe how easy, and delicious, this vegetarian quiche is.

Light and Fluffy Spinach Quiche

See how to make a tasty, reduced-fat spinach and Cheddar quiche.

Roasted Garlic Lemon Broccoli

Florets are roasted with garlic in olive oil and dressed with fresh lemon juice.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States