Tofu Peanut Stir-Fry Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2014
I took Darter02's advice and used Best Thai Peanut Sauce (which was AWESOME!), used fresh veggies (green and red bell peppers, snow peas), and just fried the tofu in peanut oil rather than egg batter it. It was pretty darn good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mimsmac

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2014
Delicious- it's a great way to cook tofu to crisp it up a little bit. I used a bottled peanut sauce that was spicier than I expected, so my 4 year old didn't love it, but my husband and I did :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Poland, Maine, USA
Living In: Portland, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2014
This was my first time cooking with tofu, and I'm now a fan. The peanut sauce with the ginger added a really good flavor, this is definitely a favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2013
Very good and very simple!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2013
Absolutely love this recipe. I usually make it with broccoli, red peppers, onions, and sugar snap peas. Sometime double bread the tofu (flour, egg, flour) and use a mixture of flour, cornstarch, and cornmeal (or just flour/cornstarch or flour/cornmeal). When I don't have access to store bought peanut sauce I've made "Thai-style peanut sauce with honey" from this website. It's very good with this recipe. Thank you for this gem of a meal! It's one of our favorites in my house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2013
I followed the recipe exactly. The tofu never browned and the cornstarch gave it a really weird texture and flavor. I did not get the crispy texture I had hoped for when I read the instructions to coat in egg and cornstarch. Also, I don't know if it was the water from the tofu or what, but I ended up with a soupy mess when frying the tofu. Plenty of people seemed to be successful with this recipe; unfortunately, it just really didn't work for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ginger Buns

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2013
Breading the tofu cubes was a mess (used firm tofu and it fell apart while dredging). There was even more of a mess in the skillet when the tofu was fried - crumbling tofu, globs of batter which fell off of the tofu. Also, too much peanut sauce. AND I doubled this recipe using 2 lbs of tofu and nearly 40 oz of veg. but still just got 4 respectable servings!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2013
A HIT! I add a bit of coconut milk for extra sauce
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ana

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2012
Peanut flavor needs to be stronger
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2012
YUM! This hit the spot! I didn't have any cornstarch so I used flour as someone suggested. I will use cornstarch next time for the extra crisp. I didn't have any peanut sauce so I used some stir fry sauce and sesame oil. Will make this again in the future and follow the recipe next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Masa Bamm

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 125) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Ginger Veggie Stir-Fry

Your favorite veggies stir-fried with a mild garlic, ginger, and soy sauce.

Chicken Stir-Fry

A quick stir-fry that’s slightly sweet, slightly spicy and very veggie friendly.

Peanut Noodles

See how to make quick-and-easy, Asian-style peanut sauce for noodles.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States