Tofu Parmigiana Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 10, 2004
This recipe was fantastic! I was skeptical, since I have had dubious success with tofu in the past, but this turned out perfectly. After reading the reveiws, I sliced the tofu to 1/4 inch thickness, pressed the slices with paper towel to absorb moisture, froze for 30 minutes on a cookie sheet, then removed and dipped in flour, then egg, then crumbs. Rather than frying, I baked the tofu at 350 degrees for 15 minutes each side, on a cookie sheet rubbed lightly with olive oil. The pieces did not break, and came out crispy and delicious. I then layered the ingredients as follows in a large loaf pan: tomato sauce, half the tofu, half the cheese, repeat. For those who are interested in macronutrient composition, this came out as 30% protein, 30% carbs, 40% fat (with low fat cheese and baked, not fried). It was perfect, and, yes, my carnivorous boyfriend loved it. Would be great for guests, as the breading and assembly can be done ahead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
403 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2007
I have made this recipe twice, the first time with no changes, and it was very good. The second time, I made the following revisions and it was even better:1) DO NOT put tofu in water. 2) Season dry sliced tofu with salt & pepper. 3) Dredge slices in white flour seasoned with salt & pepper. 3) Dredge tofu in beaten egg seasoned with salt & pepper until completely coated. 4) Dip in seasoned bread crumbs. 5) Cook tofu according to recipe instruction. 6) Spread a small layer of tomato sauce in bottom of lightly oiled baking dish. 7) Place tofu in dish, cover with tomato sauce, sprinkle with cheeses, and bake. Sprinkle with chopped parsley when you take it out of the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
351 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elena

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Pickering, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2005
I love this recipe... I'm eating leftovers for lunch right now. Some very important changes: After slicing the tofu, press the slices gently between paper towels to drain the water. Then BAKE IT on a nonstick sheet until it begins to turn golden. You will thank me. Yes, I bake it before frying it... the baking is not instead of frying. the extra step just makes the texture SO much better... I cook w/ tofu in this way alot. Also, like other reviewers said, I dip the tofu slices in egg before breading and have NO issues w/ the breading coming off while frying.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
335 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2002
For a more chicken like texture, make sure you choose the firmest tofu you can find. Cut the tofu into the size and thickness you preffer. Pat the tofu dry (kitchen paper towel). Then place them in freezer bags or plastic wrap and place them in the freezer overnight or at least for 8 hours. when ready to use place the tofu in a deep bowl and pour boiling water over the tofu. Pat dry tofu the coat it with the breadcrumbs. If the breadcrmbs don't stick spray the tofu cuts with cooking spray. I baked mine in the oven on a cookie tray sprayed with cooking oil. The texture after doing this process makes it a million times better. Good luck.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
160 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2008
If you are not used to using extra firm tofu. Make sure that you freeze the entire "block", whether packed in water or not. Take out and defrost on counter for three (3) hrs or microwave for 3 min..it'll be like a sponge texture. Squeeze excess moister out and then, use just like you would meat. Much heartier consistency and meat eaters will be suprised.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
108 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2006
This was fantastic, my husband knew there was tofu in the recipe, but was unable to find it between "the chicken" pieces! I prefer to coat the tofu with a beaten egg then with the crumbs and to cook it in the oven instead of in the pan (around 20 minutes at 375F. This way it is crispier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
87 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2002
This was super easy and quick to make, and very tasty! To get good bread crumb coating on the tofu without using eggs or oil, I first pressed the tofu into the breadcrumbs, then sprayed each piece all over with cooking spray and then pressed the tofu into the crumb mixture again--this worked well. I also fried the tofu with cooking spray. The result was a delicious, non-greasy dish! I would definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
78 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2002
This is the BEST tofu recipe I have ever made!! I have cooked it for guests who said they hated tofu....but after they tasted it, they changed their minds. This has become my husbands favorite meal! I made this recipe a little lighter by using cooking spray instead of the oil, and baking it instead of frying it. It worked out really well! And took away a lot of the fat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2002
Just great! I sometimes jazz it up a little by using fancy spaghetti sauces instead of plain tomato sauce. I also like use 2% cottage cheese instead of mozza, just to reduce the fat a little. Tastes just as good IMHO, and keeps the dish moist too! Many thanks to whomever suggested baking the tofu instead of frying -- works REALLY well, and it's less work-intensive for the chef to boot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DANGEROUSPENGUIN

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2005
This was excellent. My fiance and I are not big tofu eaters, but thought we'd try this. I used a jar of pasta sauce and I followed some of the other suggestions: I blotted the water off the tofu then I froze the tofu for 30 minutes, then I cut it into 1/4 inch slices, I dipped it in flour then egg then the crumbs and I baked it on its own for 12 minutes on each side before putting it in the casserole. I served it over spaghetti. When I told my fiancé what we were having for dinner, he turned his nose up but it was so good that he was picking at the leftovers right after we ate!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by trooworld

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Smithville, Ohio, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 767) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Tofu Turkey I

See how to make a stuffed and basted vegan Thanksgiving "turkey."

Eggplant Parmesan I

See how to make a cheesy eggplant casserole.

Eggplant Parmesan Casserole

A delicious eggplant casserole with way fewer calories than most.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States