Tofu Parmigiana Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2013
Made this last night for supper and the kids just gobbled it up. I love healthy recipes that work out and taste delicious! Thanks for posting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2013
This was actually really good. My two teenage kids and husband are not tofu fans so i didn't tell them what was inside and said 'just eat it, you'll like it'. They actually cleaned off their plates and went back for more!!! A success. They asked me to make it again for dinner. Thanks for posting it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maria Schembri

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Photo by whatwoodrhondado?
Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2013
This is delicious, but I've given it only 3 stars because 1) the instructions for coating/breading are insufficient and I had to devise a better way, and 2) I think the dish would be better with a more robust (or even a jarred) sauce. To get my breading to stick, I dusted the tofu slabs in cornstarch and then dipped them in an egg wash before patting them into the seasoned breadcrumbs. I happened to use panko because that's what I had on hand, and I wanted a fuller, crunchier texture to the dish. The breading stayed on the tofu beautifully and left pretty much nothing in the pan! Next time - of which there will be many - I will use my favorite jarred Arrabiata sauce and probably make it my own by grating in a little fresh garlic and adding some fresh basil. Think I'll also use this breaded tofu as a protein source and pasta substitute when making vegetarian lasagna.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fredonia, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: San Pedro, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2013
My first venture into cooking with tofu was a smashing success. Per the advice given in other reviews, I sliced the tofu, placed on baking sheet, and froze until firm. Removed from freezer and allowed to thaw, then pressed out the liquid. The texture in the finished dish really was (almost) like using veal. I was worried about the sauce being bland, but it turned out perfect. Really tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2013
My 6 yr old asks for this one weekly - instead of dipping the tofu in water I dip it in a beaten egg then coat tofu in breadcrumb mixture
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Home Grown Mama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sooke, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2013
It is so much easier and less messy to fry the tofu slices to a crisp condition and then add the preheated sauce and cheese without bothering the oven. I regognize that pizza lovers want a crispy cheese, but in my book I need not bother.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2013
I am gluten intolerant and I decided to try out this recipe, however I used a gluten-free imitation bread crumbs that is made from corn meal. Also I didn't have firm tofu (first time I ever bought tofu and had no idea what firm, soft, or medium meant) I used a medium-firm tofu. The flavours at the end were Ok, but if I make this recipe again next time I would definitely skip the whole bread crumbs part!! for me it didn't stick at all to the tofu and it was a mess cooking and browning the tofu... horrible!! I think this was mostly because of the fact that what I used is not real bread crumbs, and the tofu was not the firm type. I have to try this recipe with chicken, it probably wouldn't be as frustrating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by susysee

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2013
This was FANTASTIC. I did go with one of the reviewer's suggestions: after slicing the tofu, I dipped in flour, egg, then breadcrumbs, and then baked at 350 or 375 for roughly 15 minutes on each side. Even my boyfriend, who is a proud meat eater, said, "This is amazing." So, there you have it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KITTYBRAT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Nashua, New Hampshire, USA
Reviewed: May 6, 2013
SO amazing! I didn't have oregano nor basil so I used marjoram, celery spice & parsley. I'm a vegetarian so i eat a lot of tofu and this i will making again. I ate with salad and pasta on the side. SO GOOD!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2013
I squeezed out the tofu block between two plates, then cut it and froze for 30 minutes. After that, I dipped the pieces in flour, egg, and then crumbs and baked for 15 minutes on each side at 350 degrees (total of 30 min). Then put some sauce on the bottom of the square pan, added breaded tofu, cheese, and repeated the layering. 20 minutes at 400 and they were done and delicious. They really tasted and felt like breaded cheese and my wife and I loved it! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 765) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Tofu Turkey I

See how to make a stuffed and basted vegan Thanksgiving "turkey."

Eggplant Parmesan I

See how to make a cheesy eggplant casserole.

Eggplant Parmesan Casserole

A delicious eggplant casserole with way fewer calories than most.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States